Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Open Educational Resources?
"Open Educational Resources, or OER, refer to any teaching and learning materials that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license, such as a Creative Commons License or GNU General Public License, that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution with no or limited restrictions".
(Source: The OER Toolkit, Colleges Library Ontario)
Where can I find OERs for my course?
There are a variety of sources for OERs! This is only a small selection. For more, check the Library's OER Research Guide.
AMSER (Applied Math and Science Education Repository)
"AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use." -- website
BCcampus Open Ed provides access to open textbooks on a number of topics from 41 institutions across Canada. Digital copies are available free of charge, and print editions are available for a small fee.
Directory of Open Access Journals
"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals." -- website
eCampus Ontario Open Textbook Library
"In partnership with BCcampus, and in the footsteps of other provincial online learning centres like OpenEd Manitoba, eCampusOntario has created this new virtual Open Textbook Library, established to offer learners a repository of resources which are licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed." -- website (A link to eCampus is also available at LoyalistLibrary.com, under the Collections tab.)
Open Educational Resources Research Guide
The Loyalist Library has its own guide to open educational resources. This guide acts as a starting point, with background information, links to OER's, and more.
OERs for Massage Therapy
Anatomy and Physiology (OpenStax)
"Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course." -- website
"Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens." -- website
Evidence-Based Massage Therapy: A Guide for Clinical Practice
"This clinical practice handbook will prove essential to massage therapists, physical therapists, chiropractors, medical doctors, psychologists and other health professionals who care for people with musculoskeletal pain. It is a living document and will be continuously updated as new research becomes available." -- website
What are Apps?
Apps are small software applications that allow you to customize a mobile device and perform a variety of activities and functions. Some apps are free, while others are fee-based, so it is important to read terms and conditions carefully. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. The Library does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons.
(Source: Austin Community College Library)
Anatomy Lite (iOS)
"This application provides a good reference for people who want to know more about Human Anatomy or study in General Human Anatomy." -- website
Keep Us Current!
Found a link that isn't working? Is one of our resources out-of-date? Is there a great resource that we don't know about?
Get in touch with the library and let us know!
We can be reached by phone at 613-969-1913, Ext. 2249, or by email at email@example.com