Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is only a small selection of our titles on this subject. Be sure to check Catalyst for more, or come in and ask our staff for help!
Career Cruising is a self-exploration and planning program that helps people of all ages achieve their potential in school, career and life.
Users learn about themselves—their interests, skills, preferences and aspirations—so they can explore the opportunities right for them. They learn about career possibilities and educational pathways by exploring rich, engaging content. A dynamic, actionable plan outlines the steps needed to achieve career, school and life goals. Plans are then brought to life—whether for a career, job or college—by taking informed action.
Associations Canada Associations Canada is comprised of more than 20,000 detailed profiles of Canadian organizations and international groups. This includes 4,439 charitable organizations and 877 foreign associations. Over 25 fields to choose from, including: Previous Name/Also Known As, Founding Date, Membership Profile, (size, fees), Staff Size (paid and volunteer), Sources of Funding, Jurisdiction, (national, provincial, regional), Membership in and/or Affiliation with.
Eight Easy-to-Use Indexes: Subject, Budget, Geographic, Registered Charitable Organizations, Mailing List, Acronym, Executive Name, Conferences & Conventions, Canadian & Foreign Associations, Awards, Scholarships & Grants, Meetings, Conferences & Conventions, Registered Charitable Organizations
Business Market Research Collection This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries. Full Text Included. Coverage:1986 - current
Scott's Ontario Business Directory - Profiler Edition This is Scott's most comprehensive business directory covering Ontario businesses.
Books & eBooks
Creating a Pathway to Your Dream Career by A college degree used to practically guarantee a satisfying (if not necessarily emotionally fulfilling) job and a salary that would ensure a reasonably comfortable lifestyle and a secure retirement. That's ancient history. During the depths of the recent recession, half of all college graduates were unable to get any job or, if they were lucky enough to land a job, it did not make use of their education and did not offer a professional career path. Although the job market is slowly improving, most university graduates, not to speak of community college and high school graduates, still face a very rough and uncertain road to the American Dream. After all, there are still far fewer mid-skill/mid-income jobs than there are people applying for them. And to make matters worse, the number of employers willing to hire and train new graduates on the basis of their 'potential' is rapidly declining. They want people who are already capable of performing the job they are looking to fill. It's no wonder that 56% of recent college graduates believe they will to do less well than their parents--only 17% expect to do better! But, while the prospects may appear daunting, there are many opportunities to not only get a good job, but to develop the career of your dreams. This book provides a 20-step plan for students who can: 1. Hone in a career choice; 2. Develop the skills they will need; and 3. Land and capitalize on their first job.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Down Range by Military veterans prepare for the next mission in their careers Written by veterans who have successfully made the transition, Down Range offers career planning guidance to U.S. military veterans coming off active duty. This is NOT simply a guide to transitioning from the military to the civilian world. This is NOT a guide to getting a job. This book IS a guide to developing a post-military career, not just for the first few days, weeks, or months after active duty, but for the rest of your employed life. This simple and effective planning process has been taught to more than 1 million business executives in companies all over the world. Explains how to build an adaptable long-range career plan called a Career High Definition Destination (HDD), across a spectrum of seven key areas Shows how business differs from military service, how to identify the resources needed to achieve the Career HDD, and how to develop strategic and tactical courses of action that drive you to executing towards your Career HDD on a consistent basis Author James Murphy is founder of Afterburner Inc. and is currently working with the U.S. Army at the highest levels to develop a transition program for the estimated 1.5 million veterans who will transition from active duty service to civilian careers by the year 2020 This book challenges veterans to change their mind-set and understand just how different the "wilderness" of civilian employment is from military experience. Down Range provides an appreciation for what's important to a business, helping you to become a valuable asset throughout your career.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Find Your Fit by Master the new world of work. You want--no, you need--a new job. But not just any job. The job. So you polish your resume till it shines. You apply for countless openings, tailoring your message to each. You search for the hidden job market, although it remains very well hidden. And the response? Well, it's underwhelming. To top things off, maze-like online application systems appear designed to keep you and the perfect job apart. What's going on? How people successfully land jobs has changed. You need help from a pro, someone who navigates career data, the labor market, and hot jobs with ease. You want a coach who will tell you what to pursue and what to avoid, and an expert who has mastered job-hunting and career change to offer wisdom gained from experience. What you need is a career coach. Better yet, several. Expert career coaches contributing to this volume include Lakeisha Mathews, Dan Schwartz, Sheila Margolis, Alisa Cohn, Michelle Riklan, Marie Zimenoff, Laura Labovich, Lynne Williams, Thea Kelley, Jean Juchnowicz, Alan DeBack, Marilyn Feldstein, Vivian Blade, David Hosmer, Barbara Seifert, and Nicole Miller. Find Your Fit guides you through answering foundational questions like: What do I want to do with my career? Where should I do it? And how do I get there? As you develop a strong sense of self-awareness, you'll be able to identify the work environment best for you, shape your online identity, and network more effectively by focusing on people instead of openings. You'll learn about coveted employee referrals, and how to get one at your target company. With the help of experienced career coaches, you'll be able to handle any kind of interview. And, you'll become familiar with the pre-employment testing and assessments increasingly common today. What are you waiting for? Your personal coaching session awaits.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
The Nursing Career Planning Guide by The Nursing Career Planning Guide presents working nurses with tips for beginning a nursing career, moving out of bedside clinical roles, and acquiring general supervision and career development skills. This book introduces strategies for coping with workplace transitions such as job reentry, layoff, termination, resignation, and compassion fatigue. This guide also covers the following topics: nursing as a career, the nursing shortage, men in nursing, financing your nursing education, and life as a new nurse. Author Susan Odegaard Turner offers unique self assessment tools (Turner Self Assessment Tools) that nurses and nursing students can use routinely over the course of their career.
Call Number: RT82 .T89 2007
Publication Date: 2007
So Good They Can't Ignore You by In an unorthodox approach, Georgetown University professor Cal Newport debunks the long-held belief that "follow your passion" is good advice, and sets out on a quest to discover the reality of how people end up loving their careers. Not only are pre-existing passions rare and have little to do with how most people end up loving their work, but a focus on passion over skill can be dangerous, leading to anxiety and chronic job hopping. Spending time with organic farmers, venture capitalists, screenwriters, freelance computer programmers, and others who admitted to deriving great satisfaction from their work, Newport uncovers the strategies they used and the pitfalls they avoided in developing their compelling careers. Cal reveals that matching your job to a pre-existing passion does not matter. Passion comes after you put in the hard work to become excellent at something valuable, not before. In other words, what you do for a living is much less important than how you do it. With a title taken from the comedian Steve Martin, who once said his advice for aspiring entertainers was to "be so good they can't ignore you," Cal Newport's clearly written manifesto is mandatory reading for anyone fretting about what to do with their life, or frustrated by their current job situation and eager to find a fresh new way to take control of their livelihood. He provides an evidence-based blueprint for creating work you love, and will change the way you think about careers, happiness, and the crafting of a remarkable life.
Call Number: HF5381 .N497 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
What Next after School? by What Next After School? has established itself as a key guide for helping students to understand the many options available to them as they approach the end of their school years, including education options (academic as well as vocational training), gap years, the world of work, and practical issues such as finances, debts and insurance. This new 10th edition also includes case studies illustrating how other students have adapted to life after school, as well as detailed information on making the most of the decisions facing all school leavers.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012