Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Developmental Social Workers and the Social Service Worker - New Book guide for the Parrott Centre Library.
This research guide combines new books for the following programs:
- Developmental Social Workers
- Social Service Worker
DSW / SSW - New Books
Brain and Behavior by Ignite your students' excitement about behavioral neuroscience with Brain & Behavior: An Introduction to Behavioral Neuroscience, Fifth Edition by best-selling author Bob Garrett and new co-author Gerald Hough. Garrett and Hough make the field accessible by inviting students to explore key theories and scientific discoveries using detailed illustrations and immersive examples as their guide. Spotlights on case studies, current events, and research findings help students make connections between the material and their own lives. A study guide, revised artwork, new animations, and an interactive eBook stimulate deep learning and critical thinking. A Complete Teaching & Learning Package Contact your rep to request a demo, answer your questions, and find the perfect combination of tools and resources below to fit your unique course needs. SAGE Premium Video Stories of Brain & Behavior and Figures Brought to Life videos bring concepts to life through original animations and easy-to-follow narrations. Watch a sample. Interactive eBook Your students save when you bundle the print version with the Interactive eBook (Bundle ISBN: 978-1-5443-1607-9), which includes access to SAGE Premium Video and other multimedia tools. Learn more. SAGE coursepacks SAGE coursepacks makes it easy to import our quality instructor and student resource content into your school's learning management system (LMS). Intuitive and simple to use, SAGE coursepacks allows you to customize course content to meet your students' needs. Learn more. SAGE edge This companion website offers both instructors and students a robust online environment with an impressive array of teaching and learning resources. Learn more. Study Guide The completely revised Study Guide offers students even more opportunities to practice and master the material. Bundle it with the core text for only $5 more! Learn more.
Call Number: QP360 .G37 2018
Queer Social Work : cases for LGBTQ+ affirmative practice by This collection of case studies that model LGBTQ+ affirmative social work practice offers real-life scenarios from a range of social work scholars, educators, and practitioners, representing diverse sexualities, genders, and intersectional identities. Together, they demonstrate contemporary, multilevel, queer-affirming social work practice with LGBTQ+ people and communities. These fourteen case studies follow social workers across the country on their quest for quality service provision for vulnerable populations. Chapters explore issues such as finding trans-affirming care for teens, methamphetamine abuse among elderly gay men, previously exploited teens reentering foster care, navigating nonmonogamous relationships, and more. Each chapter offers concrete, comparative case formulation that depicts culturally responsive work with LGBTQ+ people by LGBTQ+ social workers. These diverse vignettes showcase a range of life experiences and explore how factors like religion, age, and immigration status affect social work practice. The case studies in this volume integrate best-practice standards and interventions, social work ethics and competencies, and clinical and critical theories. Queer Social Work is a progressive pedagogical tool that provides a forum for marginalized communities and individuals as well as the committed practitioners who serve them.
Call Number: HV1449 .Q44 2019
Palliative Care by Accessible and instructive, Palliative Care guides and inspires health social workers to integrate palliative care principles into their current clinical practice. Through the lenses of environmental theory and intersectionality, rich case narratives and diverse practice settings highlightopportunities for social workers to enhance their work, thereby advancing whole-person care in the face of serious illness. The volume also models engagement, assessment, and intervention through key palliative care skills and language. Chapters include questions to concretize ideas and demonstratereal-world application, while case narratives cover a range of settings, diagnoses, and populations. This book is a useful tool for any social worker working with individuals and families navigating complex health care systems.
Call Number: HV3001.A4 P35 2019
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care by This new edition has been fully revised and updated to provide over 1,800 A-Z definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as keyterms from interdisciplinary topics overlapping with health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. It also provides extended entries on specialisms such as children and families, domestic violence, and residential care, and has been extensively updated toinclude new legislation. Useful appendices include a glossary of acronyms and a Table of Legislation, Regulations, and Codes of Practice, cross-referenced to Dictionary entries. Entry-level bibliographies and web links provide further resources and the web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companionwebsite. Written by two leading figures in the field, and a team of eleven contributors, A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care is a must-have for students of social work, social care, and related subjects, as well as for qualified social workers undertaking continuing professional development programs.
Call Number: HV12 .H37 2018
Policy and Program Planning for Older Adults and People with Disabilities by The second edition of this landmark textbook is distinguished by its pioneering approach to encompassing disability and aging policies under one umbrella, in response to the newly developed Administration on Aging and Disability. It addresses policy changes impacting health and disability services resulting from the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and other new legislation, and offers a pioneering approach to transforming policy into practice applications. New to the second edition is current census data and new legislative mandates from the ACA and other policy organizations impacting aging adults and/or disabled populations. Also included is new coverage on Social Media, Motivational Interviewing, Health Literacy, Underrepresented Groups, LGBT, and Rural Communities. Podcasts, available as downloads, present the messages of advocates, lobbyists, policy experts, and consumers who address various aspects of relevant policies and policy development. Unlike other texts, the book focuses on triangulating skills, policies, and programs for graduate students in social work, public health, gerontology, and rehabilitation. It aims thus to enhance understanding of policy development through a critical analysis and review of policy framework, and promotes development of skills in shaping programs and implementing policy. The text lays out tools that facilitate policy and program development to include the media, coalition building, the use of an evidence base, and how each mandated policy addresses these programs and services. Chapters include learning objectives, case studies, review/discussion questions, and resources for additional information. An Instructors Manual, Test Bank, and PowerPoint slides facilitate the teaching process. New to the Second Edition: Addresses both disability and aging policiesIncludes updated census dataPresents new legislation and mandates for the ACA, Veterans and the Military, Caregivers/Caregiver Support Act, Alzheimer Support, Health Lifestyles, Aging and Disability Resource Centers, Elder Justice Act, and Substance Use and MisuseProvides new coverage on Social Media, Motivational Interviewing, Health Literacy, Minorities, Incarcerated Individuals, Immigrants/Refugees, LGBT, and Rural CommunitiesOffers podcasts of interviews with key consumers and policy experts Key Features: Lays out tools that facilitate policy and program developmentExamines major service areas for older adultsAddresses philosophical, historical, and demographic challengesEnhances understanding of policy development through critical analysisIncludes learning objectives, case studies, review questions, and instructor package
Call Number: HV1461 .J87 2019
Inventing Ourselves by A tour through the groundbreaking science behind the enigmatic, but crucial, brain developments of adolescence and how those translate into teenage behavior The brain creates every feeling, emotion, and desire we experience, and stores every one of our memories. And yet, until very recently, scientists believed our brains were fully developed from childhood on. Now, thanks to imaging technology that enables us to look inside the living human brain at all ages, we know that this isn't so. Professor Sarah-Jayne Blakemore, one of the world's leading researchers into adolescent neurology, explains precisely what is going on in the complex and fascinating brains of teenagers--namely that the brain goes on developing and changing right through adolescence--with profound implications for the adults these young people will become. Drawing from cutting-edge research, including her own, Blakemore shows: How an adolescent brain differs from those of children and adults Why problem-free kids can turn into challenging teens What drives the excessive risk-taking and all-consuming relationships common among teenagers And why many mental illnesses--depression, addiction, schizophrenia--present during these formative years Blakemore's discoveries have transformed our understanding of the teenage mind, with consequences for law, education policy and practice, and, most of all, parents.
Call Number: QP363.5 B57 2018
Supported Decision-Making by The United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) recognized that people with disabilities should have the right to exercise their legal capacity and identified 'supported decision-making' as a means by which people with disabilities can be directly involved in decisions that impact their lives. Offering an overview of its emergence in the disability field and highlighting emerging research, theory, and practice from legal, psychology, education, and health fields, this volume provides a much-needed theoretical and evidence base for supported decision-making. Evidence and strengths-based frameworks for understanding disability, supports, and their roles in promoting supported decision-making are synthesized. The authors describe the application of a social-ecological approach to supported decision-making, and focus on implications for building systems of supports based on current environmental demands. This volume introduces and explains empirical research on critical elements of supported decision-making and the applications of supported decision-making that enhance outcomes, including self-determination and quality of life.
Call Number: HV1568 .S459 2019
Statistics in Social Work by Understanding statistical concepts is essential for social work professionals. It is key to understanding research and reaching evidence-based decisions in your own practice--but that is only the beginning. If you understand statistics, you can determine the best interventions for your clients. You can use new tools to monitor and evaluate the progress of your client or team. You can recognize biased systems masked by complex models and the appearance of scientific neutrality. For social workers, statistics are not just math, they are a critical practice tool. This concise and approachable introduction to statistics limits its coverage to the concepts most relevant to social workers. Statistics in Social Work guides students through concepts and procedures from descriptive statistics and correlation to hypothesis testing and inferential statistics. Besides presenting key concepts, it focuses on real-world examples that students will encounter in a social work practice. Using concrete illustrations from a variety of potential concentrations and populations, Amy Batchelor creates clear connections between theory and practice--and demonstrates the important contributions statistics can make to evidence-based and rigorous social work practice.
Call Number: HV29 .B38 2020
Instructional Strategies for Students with Mild, Moderate, and Severe Intellectual Disability by Instructional Strategies for Students with Mild, Moderate, and Severe Intellectual Disability supports teacher educators who are preparing pre-service or in-service teachers to instruct students with intellectual disability from preschool through transition. As a solid, research based methods textbook, it focuses on providing strategies and approaches for how to teach across the spectrum of intellectual abilities and shows how teaching these students involves attention to evidence-based practice. The book presents academic, functional, and behavioral instructional strategies for all these populations.
Call Number: LC4601 .I57 2018
The Routledge handbook of disability arts, culture, and media by "This handbook brings disability arts, disability culture, and disability media studies...together for the first time. It provides scholars, graduate students, upper-level undergraduate students, and others interested in the disability rights agenda with a broad-based, practical, and accessible introduction to key debates in the field of disability art, culture and media studies. An internationally recognized selection of authors from around the world come together to articulate the theories, issues, interests, and practices that have come to define the field. Most critically, this book includes commentaries that forecast the pressing present and future concerns for the field as scholars, advocates, activists, and artists work to make a more inclusive society a reality"--Back cover.
Call Number: NX180.H34 R68 2019
An Introduction to Young Children with Special Needs by An Introduction to Young Children with Special Needs: Birth Through Age Eight is a comprehensive introduction to educational policies, programs, practices, and services for future practitioners serving young children with delays or disabilities in early intervention-early childhood special education (EI-ECSE). Thoughtfully addressing the needs of children at risk for learning or development delays or disabilities, revered authors Richard M. Gargiulo and Jennifer L. Kilgo offer evidence-based interventions and instructional techniques that provide students with a broad understanding of important theoretical and philosophical foundations, including evidence-based decision making, developmentally appropriate practices, cultural responsiveness, and activity-based intervention.
Call Number: LC4019.3 G27 2019
Learning Disabilities Sourcebook by Health information about the signs, symptoms, and diagnosis of various learning disabilities and other conditions that impact learning, along with facts about early intervention and the special education process, advice for coping at home and school, and handling the transition to adulthood. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Call Number: RJ496.L4 L434 2019
Self-Advocacy and Disability Rights by People with disabilities, both physical and developmental, are an often-overlooked segment of civil rights movements. In fact, these individuals are among the most powerless in our society, even with organizations and professionals dedicated to fighting on their behalf. The self-advocacy movement seeks to empower the disabled to take control of their own lives. Through education about rights, laws, and the system, disabled adults and teens, as well as the parents of disabled children, can have agency over their lives. The viewpoints in this volume offer guidance and opinions from different perspectives.
Call Number: HV1553 .S439 2019
Disability Across the Developmental Lifespan, Second Edition by This is the only text to examine the experience of disability in relation to theories of human growth and development. It provides a foundational and comprehensive examination of disability that encompasses the intellectual, psychiatric, physical, and social arenas. The second edition is updated to underscore its versatility as an introductory text about the developmental tasks of people with disabilities for all the helping professions. Reorganized to illuminate the book's interdisciplinary focus, it includes new demographics, new case studies and first-person accounts, discussions on cultural aspects of disabilities, family concerns, and more. The text delivers practice guidelines for each of the conventional life stages and describes the developmental tasks of individuals with disabilities (IWDs). It emphasizes the positive trend in the perception of IWDs as normal and underscores the fact that IWDs have the same motivations, emotions, and goals as those without disabilities. Learning activities, suggestions for writing exercises, and websites for further study reinforce learning, as do graphs and charts illustrating trends and demographics.NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Introductory chapter on understanding disabilityDemographic updates throughoutNew case studies and first-person accountsExpanded discussions about cultural considerations, intersectionality, and family considerationsUpdated Instructor's Manual and an Instructor's Test BankKEY FEATURES: Examines the conventional stages of human growth and development from the perspective of individuals with disabilitiesIntegrates disability concepts with developmental theories and stages of the lifespanAddresses common ethical issues to illuminate the real-world implications faced by individuals with disabilities and their familiesIncludes learning activities, suggestions for writing exercises, and websites for further studyPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers.
Call Number: RJ137 .S63 2021
From Disability to Diversity by Colleges and universities are seeing increasing numbers of students with a range of disabilities enrolling in postsecondary education. Many of these disabilities are invisible and, despite their potential for negative impact on students' academic and social adjustment, some students will choose not to identify as having a disability or request support. Approaching disability from the perspective of difference, the authors of this new volume offer guidance on creating more inclusive learning environments on campus so that all students--whether or not they have a recognized disability--have the opportunity to succeed. Strategies for supporting students with specific learning disabilities, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, autism spectrum disorder or who display learning and behavioral characteristics associated with these profiles are described. A valuable resource for instructors, advisors, academic support personnel, and others who work directly with college students.
Call Number: LC4818.38 .S53 2019
Toward a Livable Life by Historically, social workers have confronted and alleviated many of society's most far-reaching and seemingly intractable challenges. As we move further into the 21st century, however, the field faces a renewed call to action as critical problems become more deeply and widely engrained in theworld's social fabric. Enlisting the insights of leading social work scholars, Toward a Livable Life grapples with 13 key areas in an effort to identify innovative solutions toward achieving a "livable life" - that is, a life in which individuals are able to thrive and develop in order to reachtheir full potential and capacity. To this end, the volume paves the way for the effort that lies ahead for social work researchers, practitioners, teachers, and students.
Call Number: HV91 .T69 2020
Supporting Transgender and Non-Binary People with Disabilities or Illnesses by By drawing on the experience of trans people who are affected by physical disability, chronic illness and mental illness, this book is the definitive guide on providing best practise in approaches to health and care policy. Suggesting solutions to areas where understanding and care provision is poor, Kermode gives advice on topics such as transitioning with a disability, sex-specific service provision and fertility and reproduction. The book also examines how health and care professionals can adapt to cater for transgender and non-binary people's needs and can support those who must use health services due to their condition. Written in an accessible and comprehensive manner, Supporting Transgender and Non-Binary People with Disabilities or Illnesses is an essential guide for practitioners in health and social care positions.
Call Number: RA564.9.T73 K47 2019
Suggest a New Book
Please feel free to submit a request at any time to Jennifer Dupuis
An Order Form is provided here for your convenience.