Welcome to the Child and Youth Care - New Book guide for the Parrott Centre Library.
This research guide combines new books for the following program:
Child and Youth Care
Child and Youth Care - New Books
Child Abuse and Neglect in Canada by Lea TuffordIn Canada, professionals such as doctors, teachers, and social workers must report child abuse and neglect to Child Protection Services. This is often a difficult decision - professionals may be uncertain if they should report their suspicions and worry about the relationship with the clientor patient if they follow through. Child Abuse and Neglect in Canada offers a concise guide to mandatory reporting in provincial and territorial jurisdictions with specific attention to the context and unique realities of Northern Canada. As an introduction to mandatory reporting, the book openswith an exploration of the historical rise of the child welfare system, mandatory reporters' ethical duties around reporting, types of abuse and neglect, risk and protective factors, and the ascendancy of child abuse in an online environment.The text goes on to explore various factors (e.g., legal, clinical, and situational) to assist human service professionals with their decision-making, examine the reporting process, and offer relationship-repair strategies (e.g., reporting, affecting regulation, and advocating). It culminates in acomprehensive, empirically based conceptual framework to help readers maintain relationships with their clients. Predicated on the author's dissertation research, this book offers human service professionals a comprehensive framework for fulfilling professional, fiduciary obligations while providingeducators with accessible teaching tools to further their pupils' understanding of the subject.
Call Number: HV6626.54.C2 T84 2020
Cultural Diversity in Child Protection by Siobhan E. Laird; Prospera TedamRacial, ethnic and religious diversity requires social workers to safeguard children and support families from many different minority backgrounds. This innovative book is based on an analysis of Serious Case Reviews (Child Safeguarding Practice Reviews) involving issues of race, ethnicity and faith. The authors examine face-to-face social work practice with children, parents, their partners and other family members from black and minority ethnic backgrounds. Throughout, they identify common mistakes in practice, and detail culturally competent responses to often challenging child protection situations. Students and practitioners are supported in the development of their own knowledge and skills through a series of reflective exercises and worked case examples.
Call Number: HV715 .L35 2019
Treating Adolescents with Substance Use Disorders by Oscar G. BuksteinFrom a leading addiction specialist, this highly practical book explores what works in treating adolescents. Oscar G. Bukstein answers the clinician's vital question: "What do I do now?" He describes best practices for enhancing youths' motivation for change, teaching a variety of recovery skills, and implementing parent management training and parent-adolescent problem solving. The book covers ways to foster a prosocial peer network and to address mental health problems that co-occur with substance use disorders (SUDs). Clinicians can combine the strategies into an integrated approach or pick and choose depending on the needs of individual clients. Reproducible handouts and worksheets can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size.
Call Number: RJ506.D78 B853 2019
Positive Interactions with at-Risk Children by Mojdeh Bayat; Naseem JamniaFind the tools and knowledge you need to build resilience in all children from an early age through appropriate interactions and conversations. Presenting a wide range of research in an accessible format, Positive Interactions with At-Risk Children explains how to understand and assess behaviors in the context of children's developmental stages. This book introduces Bayat's original Resilience-based Interaction Model (RIM), which combines behavioral and emotion-based theories of development to provide practical steps for early childhood teachers and professionals. RIM features research-based practices, including relationship building, behavior guidance, body-mind exercises for both teachers and students, as well as strategies to promote strengths of character in children and aid future learning. Ideal for new and veteran educators alike, Positive Interactions with At-Risk Children is an invaluable guide to early years behavior.
Call Number: LB3430 .B39 2019
Statistics in Social Work by Amy BatchelorUnderstanding statistical concepts is essential for social work professionals. It is key to understanding research and reaching evidence-based decisions in your own practice--but that is only the beginning. If you understand statistics, you can determine the best interventions for your clients. You can use new tools to monitor and evaluate the progress of your client or team. You can recognize biased systems masked by complex models and the appearance of scientific neutrality. For social workers, statistics are not just math, they are a critical practice tool. This concise and approachable introduction to statistics limits its coverage to the concepts most relevant to social workers. Statistics in Social Work guides students through concepts and procedures from descriptive statistics and correlation to hypothesis testing and inferential statistics. Besides presenting key concepts, it focuses on real-world examples that students will encounter in a social work practice. Using concrete illustrations from a variety of potential concentrations and populations, Amy Batchelor creates clear connections between theory and practice--and demonstrates the important contributions statistics can make to evidence-based and rigorous social work practice.
Call Number: HV29 .B38 2020
Poverty by Bent GrevePoverty has dire consequences on the ability to fulfil one's aspirations for life. Poverty has strong implications for social cohesion and societies' abilities to function in harmonious ways. This book presents the readers with the core concepts, latest development and knowledge about policies that work to eliminate absolute poverty. This volume shows what the consequences are for the quality of life of those living in poverty. It describes life for people in poverty in general, but also deals more specifically with children, in-work poverty and the elderly, thus providing a life, generational and global perspective on poverty, including the impact on people's happiness levels. The book also discusses policies aimed at poverty reduction, such as changes to the labour market - including the risk of working poor - and shows that there is a variety of possible instruments available to reduce poverty. These range from direct provision of social security to ensuring education and a better functioning labour market. Written in an engaging and accessible style, the book provides a succinct insight into the concept of poverty, how to measure it, the situation of poverty around the globe as well as different types of possible interventions to cope with poverty. Supporting theory with examples and case studies from a variety of contexts, suggestions for further reading, and a detailed glossary, this text is an essential read for anyone approaching the study of poverty for the first time.
Call Number: HC79.P6 G748 2019
Communication and Interviewing Skills for Practice in Social Work Counselling and the Health Professions by Patricia HighamThis book supports and develops the communication and interviewing skills of professional practitioners and student practitioners in social work, counselling, and the health professions. Combining work on personal and social constructs, the search for meaning, and ecological theory, this book both provides an integrated discussion of practice and presents a balanced approach when discussing psychological, biological, and social influences on individual well-being. Furthermore, it emphasises the influence of social contexts on behaviour and well-being, as well as valuing and encouraging the application of practitioners' prior experience and learning (APEL) to new knowledge and understanding. Containing a range of practice examples to stimulate learning, this book promotes a collaboration between the professions, and welcomes the contributions of people who use services, patients, and clients. Communication and Interviewing Skills for Practice in Social Work, Counselling and the Health Professions will be of interest to all undergraduate and postgraduate social work students, as well as new and experienced professional health care practitioners.
Call Number: HV29.7 .H65 2020
The School-Savvy Therapist by Mary Eno; AnonKids encounter problems at school that run the gamut from school violence, to complex systemic problems rooted in poverty or racism, to daily struggles with homework or making friends.Therapists who work with kids typically do not receive training about when and how to contact schools, or about how to work with them collaboratively. The School-Savvy Therapist by Dr. Mary Eno provides a framework, tools, and guidelines for doing just that.Drawing on research, illustrative case examples, and interviews, this practical resource describes what therapists need to know about schools and how they can effectively foster a supportive child-family-school dynamic. From reviewing test results, conducting school observations and attending family-school meetings, to helping parents advocate for their kids and more, this book will help therapists understand the critical role they play in supporting kids who struggle at school.Checklists, questions, and specific guidelines are provided so that both novice and experienced therapists can engage in this work with skill and confidence.
Call Number: LB3430 .E56 2019
Child and Adolescent Psychology by Stephen Von TetzchnerChild and Adolescent Psychology provides an accessible and thorough introduction to human development by integrating insights from typical and atypical development. This integration cements understanding since the same processes are involved. Knowledge about atypical development informs the understanding of typical development, and knowledge about typical development is a necessary basis for understanding atypical development and working with children with disorders. Based on international research, and informed by biological, social and cultural perspectives, the book provides explanations of developmental phenomena, with a focus on how children and adolescents at different age levels actually think, feel and act. Following a structure by topic, with chronological developments within each chapter, von Tetzchner presents and contrasts the major theoretical ideas in developmental psychology and discusses their implications for different aspects of development. He also integrates information about sensory, physical and cognitive disabilities and the main emotional and behavioral disorders of childhood and adolescence, and the developmental consequences of these disabilities and disorders. Child and Adolescent Psychology is accompanied by online resources for lecturers and students to enhance the book, including essay questions for each chapter, Powerpoint slides and multiple-choice questions. The book and companion website will prove invaluable to developmental psychology students. ¿
Call Number: BF721 .T454 2019
Working with Domestic Violence by Deborah WalshThis textbook equips social workers and human services practitioners with the knowledge and skills to work effectively with both the victims and perpetrators of domestic violence. Written to address the needs of the social work and human services student learner, the book covers a range of domestic violence issues that will prepare the student for practice. With an underlying structural feminist conceptual framework that works towards empowering service users whilst challenging the structures that perpetuate violence, Working with Domestic Violence includes: 18 chapters covering the broad spectrum of issues that arise from working with domestic violence A clear practice framework for applying theoretical knowledge when working with individuals and families in domestic violence contexts Practice tips, key facts, case examples, activities, and reflective questions designed to enhance the reader¿s engagement with the ideas, debates, and practice challenges introduced in the text An extensive index and glossary to support student understanding of the material A user-friendly and engaging style that will find application as an entire course book as well as for students or lecturers interested in selecting individual chapters for certain modules Working with Domestic Violence is essential reading for students undertaking undergraduate and postgraduate coursework courses in social work and human services, and those completing a postgraduate counselling qualification. The book will also be a valuable resource for students of community work, youth work, education, nursing and other allied health courses, community services, disability, and welfare studies.
Call Number: HV6626 .W3475 2019
The equal classroom : life-changing thinking about gender by Lucy Rycroft-Smith (Editor); Graham Andre (Editor)How much thinking have you done about gender? What does it feel like to be gay, trans or non-binary at school? How unbiased, safe and inclusive are our teachers, our schools and our systems, and what can we do about it? The time is ripe for a re-think, and the issues are pressing. Our pupils are grappling with challenges around gender and sexuality, and they need our well-informed support. Providing evidence, prompts and the space to explore the implications, restrictions and constructs of gender, this book is here to help every teacher reflect on issues around gender roles and expectations in their class. In this challenging and potent book, experts, academics and campaigners join forces to contribute important perspectives to complement Rycroft-Smith's own accessible and often provocative explanations of many facets of gender and sexuality, including media, literature, toys, clothing, sexism, expectations, sexuality, gender roles, harassment and consent. Humour and anecdotes are thoughtfully intertwined with fascinating insights into biological and cultural perspectives and societal norms, highlighting why it's so vital to teach pupils about gender issues, as well as modelling consent, good quality relationships and tolerance to children at all ages and stages of their school career. Providing clear, practical policy recommendations in an accessible and engaging way, The Equal Classroom is an essential read for any teacher or education professional who wants to ensure their school is a place where all pupils feel truly welcome and able to flourish, comfortable and safe in their emerging identities.
Measuring Poverty Around the World by Anthony B. AtkinsonThe final book from a towering pioneer in the study of poverty and inequality--a critically important examination of poverty around the world In this, his final book, economist Anthony Atkinson, one of the world's great social scientists and a pioneer in the study of poverty and inequality, offers an inspiring analysis of a central question: What is poverty and how much of it is there around the globe? The persistence of poverty--in rich and poor countries alike--is one of the most serious problems facing humanity. Better measurement of poverty is essential for raising awareness, motivating action, designing good policy, gauging progress, and holding political leaders accountable for meeting targets. To help make this possible, Atkinson provides a critically important examination of how poverty is--and should be--measured. Bringing together evidence about the nature and extent of poverty across the world and including case studies of sixty countries, Atkinson addresses both financial poverty and other indicators of deprivation. He starts from first principles about the meaning of poverty, translates these into concrete measures, and analyzes the data to which the measures can be applied. Crucially, he integrates international organizations' measurements of poverty with countries' own national analyses. Atkinson died before he was able to complete the book, but at his request it was edited for publication by two of his colleagues, John Micklewright and Andrea Brandolini. In addition, François Bourguignon and Nicholas Stern provide afterwords that address key issues from the unfinished chapters: how poverty relates to growth, inequality, and climate change. The result is an essential contribution to efforts to alleviate poverty around the world.