Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Chemical Engineering - New Book guide for the Parrott Centre Library.
This research guide combines new books for the following program:
Chemical Engineering - New Books
Organic Chemist's Desk Reference by The Organic Chemist's Desk Reference has been essential reading for laboratory chemists who need a succinct guide to the 'nuts and bolts' of organic chemistry -- the literature, nomenclature, stereochemistry, spectroscopy, hazard information, and laboratory data. This third edition reflects changes in the dissemination of chemical information, revisions to chemical nomenclature, and the adoption of new techniques in NMR spectroscopy, which have taken place since publication of the last edition in 2011. Organic chemistry embraces many other disciplines -- from material sciences to molecular biology -- whose practitioners will benefit from the comprehensive but concise information brought together in this book. Extensively revised and updated, this new edition contains the very latest data that chemists need access to for experimentation and research.
Call Number: QD257.7 R46 2018
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th Edition by This industry-standard resource has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more. This fully updated edition covers: Unit Conversion Factors and Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data including Prediction and Correlation of Physical Properties * Mathematics including; Differential and Integral Calculus, Statistics , Optimization * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics *Reaction Kinetics * Process Control and Instrumentation* Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Operations and Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment *; Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment *Chemical Reactors * Bio-based Reactions and Processing * Waste Management including Air ,Wastewater and Solid Waste Management* Process Safety including Inherently Safer Design * Energy Resources, Conversion and Utilization* Materials of Construction
Call Number: Reference TP151 .P45 2019
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by The iconic chemistry handbook--extensively updated and thoroughly up to date The standard reference for chemists for more than 70 years, this resource contains vast amounts of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated compendium are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, 17th Edition, is divided into six sections--general information and conversion tables, spectroscopy, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, petroleum and petroleum products, biomass and biofuels, and environmental science. Existing tables have been thoroughly overhauled and new tables have been added that cover the properties of coal, minerals, natural gas, oil shale, and petroleum. * Features equations that allow you to calculate important values such as temperature and pressure * Contains newly expanded sections on timely topics, including the properties of petroleum products, the environmental properties of chemicals, and proper clean-up methods * Includes updated viscosity, thermal conductivity, critical constants, explosion limits, and vapor density data
Call Number: QD65 .L36 2017
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Applied and Engineering Physics by "This reference offers a handy and self-contained guide to specialized terminology and scientific jargon applicable to fields in applied physical sciences and engineering. It includes more than 20,000 entries, with key terms extensively illustrated. Entries give both the core definition and further nuanced meanings relative to particular applications. A subject index categorizes entries within core areas such as optics, biophysics, electricity and magnetism, energy, fluid dynamics, geophysics, nanotechnology, medical physics, computational physics and thermodynamics. Cross-references and alternate terms are provided"--
Call Number: Reference QC5 .S65 2017
Polymer Chemistry: Beyond the Basics by Polymer chemistry is a sub-discipline of chemistry that deals with properties, structures and chemical synthesis of polymers. It helps in the creation and analysis of polymers with specific physical and chemical properties. Synthetic polymers have a wide range of industrial applications such as in electronics, construction, packaging, agriculture, biotechnology, etc. There has been rapid progress in this field and its applications are finding their way across multiple industries. Scientists and students actively engaged in this field will find this book full of crucial and unexplored concepts.
Call Number: QD381.7 .P645 2018
Green Analytical Chemistry by Chemical analysis requires solvents, reagents and energy and generates waste. The main goal of green analytical chemistry is to avoid or reduce the undesirable environmental side effects of chemical analysis, while preserving the classic analytical parameters of accuracy, sensitivity, selectivity and precision. This book portrays the current and changing situation concerning adoption of the principles of green chemistry as applied to analysis. It begins by looking at the advantages of and problems associated with on-site analysis and how analytical techniques can lead to increased productivity, efficiency and accuracy, and thereby reduce the consumption of materials. It then focuses on sample preparation techniques minimising solvent consumption or using alternative solvents, concepts and methods of improving the 'greenness' of instrumental analysis where miniaturization is an important part, separation methods from the perspective of green analytical chemistry and chemometrics approaches, which can reduce or can even remove the need for conventional steps in chemical analysis. Aimed at graduates and novices just entering the field, managers of analytical research laboratories, teachers of analytical chemistry and green public policy makers, this title will be a useful addition to any analytical scientist's library.
Call Number: QD75.22 K64 2019
Handbook of Process Control and Instrumentation (Chemical Engineering) by Chemical processes are a crucial part of chemical engineering. They refer to naturally and artificially changing one or many chemical compounds. Process control of chemical processes is an operation of controlling and supervising the optimal and safe use of chemicals and chemical reactions in factories and plants. The processes generally monitored in industrial plants are hydration, oxidation, nitrification, reduction, catalysis, etc. This book is a compilation of chapters that discuss the most vital concepts in the field of process control and instrumentation with respect to chemical engineering. It includes a detailed explanation of the various concepts and applications of this subject. This textbook will serve as a reference to a broad spectrum of readers.
Call Number: TP155.75 H36 2018
Suggest a New Book
Please feel free to submit a request at any time to Jennifer Dupuis
An Order Form is provided here for your convenience.