Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Explore the new books we have recently acquired for the Biotechnolgy program
Biotechnology - New Books
Essentials in Fermentation Technology by This textbook teaches the principles and applications of fermentation technology, bioreactors, bioprocess variables and their measurement, key product separation and purification techniques as well as bioprocess economics in an easy to understand way. The multidisciplinary science of fermentation applies scientific and engineering principles to living organisms or their useful components to produce products and services beneficial for our society. Successful exploitation of fermentation technology involves knowledge of microbiology and engineering. Thus the book serves as a must-have guide for undergraduates and graduate students interested in Biochemical Engineering and Microbial Biotechnology
Call Number: QR151 .E87 2019
Plant Secondary Metabolites for Human Health by This new book deals with recent advanced research on natural products and health-promoting foods that work to reduce the risk of diseases while enhancing overall well-being. Plant-based functional foods are known to contain compounds (also referred to as phytochemicals) in the leaves, stems, flowers, and fruits of certain plants. These plant products are drawing the attention of researchers because of their demonstrated beneficial effects against disease, particularly diabetes, hypertension, cancer, neurodegenerative diseases, among others. The medicinal and nutritional use of plant secondary metabolites is a hot topic and has been receiving extensive attention from both health professionals and the public. This book presents new information on the extraction of bioactive compounds from plants, plant-based drugs, and the innovative use of plant-based drugs for human health.
Call Number: QK861 .P543 2020
A Primer of Molecular Population Genetics by What are the genomic signatures of adaptations in DNA? How often does natural selection dictate changes to DNA? How does the ebb and flow in the abundance of individuals over time get marked onto chromosomes to record genetic history? Molecular population genetics seeks to answer such questions by explaining genetic variation and molecular evolution from micro-evolutionary principles. It provides a way to learn about how evolution works and how it shapes species by incorporating molecular details of DNA as the heritable material. It enables us to understand the logic of how mutations originate, change in abundance in populations, and become fixed as DNA sequence divergence between species. With the revolutionary advances in genomic data acquisition, understanding molecular population genetics is now a fundamental requirement for today's life scientists. These concepts apply in analysis of personal genomics, genome-wide association studies, landscape and conservation genetics, forensics, molecular anthropology, and selection scans. This book introduces, in an accessible way, the bare essentials of the theory and practice of molecular population genetics.
Call Number: QH455 .C88 2019
Science of Stem Cells by Introduces all of the essential cell biology and developmental biology background for the study of stem cells This book gives you all the important information you need to become a stem cell scientist. It covers the characterization of cells, genetic techniques for modifying cells and organisms, tissue culture technology, transplantation immunology, properties of pluripotent and tissue specific stem cells and, in particular, the relevant aspects of mammalian developmental biology. It dispels many misconceptions about stem cells--especially that they can be miracle cells that can cure all ills. The book puts emphasis on stem cell behavior in its biological context and on how to study it. Throughout, the approach is simple, direct, and logical, and evidence is given to support conclusions. Stem cell biology has huge potential for advancing therapies for many distressing and recalcitrant diseases, and its potential will be realized most quickly when as many people as possible have a good grounding in the science of stem cells. Content focused on the basic science underpinning stem cell biology Covers techniques of studying cell properties and cell lineage in vivo and in vitro Explains the basics of embryonic development and cell differentiation, as well as the essential cell biology processes of signaling, gene expression, and cell division Includes instructor resources such as further reading and figures for downloading Offers an online supplement summarizing current clinical applications of stem cells Written by a prominent leader in the field, The Science of Stem Cells is an ideal course book for advanced undergraduates or graduate students studying stem cell biology, regenerative medicine, tissue engineering, and other topics of science and biology.
Call Number: QH588.S83 .S53 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
An Introduction to Ethical, Safety and Intellectual Property Rights Issues in Biotechnology by An Introduction to Ethical, Safety and Intellectual Property Rights Issues in Biotechnology provides a comprehensive look at the biggest technologies that have revolutionized biology since the early 20th century, also discussing their impact on society. The book focuses on issues related to bioethics, biosafety and intellectual property rights, and is written in an easy-to-understand manner for graduate students and early career researchers interested in the opportunities and challenges associated with advances in biotechnology. Important topics covered include the Human Genome Project, human cloning, rDNA technology, the 3Rs and animal welfare, bioterrorism, human rights and genetic discrimination, good laboratory practices, good manufacturing practices, the protection of biological material and much more. Full of relevant case studies, practical examples, weblinks and resources for further reading, this book offers an essential and holistic look at the ways in which biotechnology has affected our global society.
Call Number: TP248.2 .N36 2017
Medicinal Plants: production, cultivation and uses by Explore modern traditional and genomic breeding methods as they apply to medicinal and aromatic plants. They go on to discuss participatory crop breeding, the significance of genomic tools, and traditional methods of selection throughout Chapter One. In Chapter Two, Discuss the properties and uses of medicinal herbs, especially Satureja montana L, noting the way its chemical composition has large inconsistencies that make it difficult to produce products from it. Next, Insight on Aronia (also known as chokeberry) in Chapter Three, mainly deliberating on its cultivation, phytochemical properties, health effects and applications, and challenges of use. Similary, a review on Helichrysum in Chapter Four. Chapter Five by offers a study intending to identify the diversity of native and exotic vegetables in Baixa da Carnaúba backyards in Parnaíba, PI. In Chapter Six, discuss the propensity for medicinal plants to be used in cereal based product production to combat metabolic disorders. Following this, Chapter Seven by Jorge Izaquiel Alves de Siqueira, Edna Maria Ferreira Chaves, and Jesus Rodrigues Lemos introduce a study aiming to detect medicinal plants in agroforestry yards in Franco, Cocal, Piauí. Usman Ali Ashfaq and Quratul ain Tariq provide an overview of the gram positive aerobic bacterium Staphylococcus in Chapter Eight. Lastly, Chapter Nine by Anuradha Singh and Anamika Singh elaborates on the biochemical aspects of Tulsi, a medicinal plant worshipped in India as holy.
Call Number: SB293 .M44 2017
Principles of Biotechnology by This volume provides readers with the important information they need to understand the basic concepts, philosophical and ethical arguments, possibilities, and consequences of biotechnology.
Call Number: TP248.2 P75 2018
Principles and Applications of Fermentation Technology by The book covers all aspects of fermentation technology such as principles, reaction kinetics, scaling up of processes, and applications. The 20 chapters written by subject matter experts are divided into two parts: Principles and Applications. In the first part subjects covered include: Modelling and kinetics of fermentation technology Sterilization techniques used in fermentation processes Design and types of bioreactors used in fermentation technology Recent advances and future prospect of fermentation technology The second part subjects covered include: Lactic acid and ethanol production using fermentation technology Various industrial value-added product biosynthesis using fermentation technology Microbial cyp450 production and its industrial application Polyunsaturated fatty acid production through solid state fermentation Application of oleaginous yeast for lignocellulosic biomass based single cell oil production Utilization of micro-algal biomass for bioethanol production Poly-lactide production from lactic acid through fermentation technology Bacterial cellulose and its potential impact on industrial applications
Call Number: TP156.F4 P76 2018
Molecular Techniques in Food Biology by Molecular Techniques in Food Biology: Safety, Biotechnology, Authenticity & Traceability explores all aspects of microbe-food interactions, especially as they pertain to food safety. Traditional morphological, physiological, and biochemical techniques for the detection, differentiation, and identification of microorganisms have severe limitations. As an alternative, many of those responsible for monitoring food safety are turning to molecular tools for identifying foodborne microorganisms. This book reviews the latest molecular techniques for detecting, identifying, and tracing microorganisms in food, addressing both good foodborne microbes, such as those used for fermentation and in probiotics, and harmful ones responsible for foodborne illness and food quality control problems. Molecular Techniques in Food Biology: Safety, Biotechnology, Authenticity & Traceability brings together contributions by leading international authorities in food biology from academe, industry, and government. Chapters cover food microbiology, food mycology, biochemistry, microbial ecology, food biotechnology and bio-processing, food authenticity, food origin traceability, and food science and technology. Throughout, special emphasis is placed on novel molecular techniques relevant to food biology research and for monitoring and assessing food safety and quality. Brings together contributions from scientists at the leading edge of the revolution in molecular food biology Explores how molecular techniques can satisfy the dire need to deepen our understanding of how microbial communities develop in foods of all types and in all forms Covers all aspects of food safety and hygiene, microbial ecology, food biotechnology and bio-processing, food authenticity, food origin traceability, and more Fills a yawning gap in the world literature on food traceability using molecular techniques This book is an important working resource for professionals in agricultural, food science, biomedicine, and government involved in food regulation and safety. It is also an excellent reference for advanced students in agriculture, food science and food technology, biochemistry, microbiology, and biotechnology, as well as academic researchers in those fields.
Call Number: TP248.65.F66 M655 2018
The Fungi by The Fungi, Third Edition, offers a comprehensive and thoroughly integrated treatment of the biology of the fungi. This modern synthesis highlights the scientific foundations that continue to inform mycologists today, as well as recent breakthroughs and the formidable challenges in current research. The Fungi combines a wide scope with the depth of inquiry and clarity offered by three leading fungal biologists. The book describes the astonishing diversity of the fungi, their complex life cycles, and intriguing mechanisms of spore release. The distinctive cell biology of the fungi is linked to their development as well as their metabolism and physiology. One of the great advances in mycology in recent decades is the recognition of the vital importance of fungi in the natural environment. Plants are supported by mycorrhizal symbioses with fungi, are attacked by other fungi that cause plant diseases, and are the major decomposers of their dead tissues. Fungi also engage in supportive and harmful interactions with animals, including humans. They are major players in global nutrient cycles. This book is written for undergraduates and graduate students, and will also be useful for professional biologists interested in familiarizing themselves with specific topics in fungal biology. Describes the diversity of the fungi, their life cycles, and mechanisms of spore release Highlights the study of fungal genetics and draws upon a wealth of information derived from molecular biological research Explains the cellular and molecular interactions that underlie the key roles of fungi in plant diversity and productivity Elucidates the interactions of fungi with other microbes and animals Highlights fungi in a changing world Details the expanding uses of fungi in biotechnology
Call Number: QK603 .W37 2016, Reserve; 3 Hour Loan
Publication Date: 2015
Suggest a New Book
Please feel free to submit a request at any time to Jennifer Dupuis
An Order Form is provided here for your convenience.
Keep Us Current!
Found a link that isn't working? Is one of our resources out-of-date? Is there a great resource that we don't know about?
Get in touch with the library and let us know!
We can be reached by phone at 613-969-1913, Ext. 2249, or by email at email@example.com