Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Skilled Trades - New Book guide for the Parrott Centre Library.
This research guide combines new resources for the following programs:
- Construction Engineering Technician
- Electrical Engineering Technician
- Electrical Techniques
- Manufacturing Engineering Technician
- Mechanical Techniques
- Welding & Fabrication Technician
- Welding Techniques
A Practical Guide to Welding Solutions by As critically important as welding is to a wide spectrum of manufacturing, construction, and repair, it is not without its problems. Those dependent on welding know only too well how easy it is to find information on the host of available processes and on the essential metallurgy that can enable success, but how frustratingly difficult it can be to find guidance on solving problems that sooner or later arise with welding, welds, or weldments. Here for the first time is the book those that practice and/or depend upon welding have needed and awaited. A Practical Guide to Welding Solutions addresses the numerous technical and material-specific issues that can interfere with success. Renowned industrial and academic welding expert and prolific author and speaker Robert W. Messler, Jr. guides readers to the solutions they seek with a well-organized search based on how a problem manifests itself (i.e., as distortion, defect, or appearance), where it appears (i.e., in the fusion zone heat-affected zone, or base metal), or it certain materials or situations.
Call Number: TS227.2 .M47 2019
Applying the Building Code by Applying the International Building Code (IBC), as well as its companion codes, to building design is a process that is uniquely different to that of applying the building code during a planning review. Whereas other guide books explain the IBC in sequential order, from cover to cover, chapter by chapter, and section by section, this book explains the requirements of the IBC as they would apply during the common phases of design: from schematic design through to the preparation of construction documents. This effectively highlights applicable requirements of the building code at the appropriate stage of design based on available information.
Call Number: KF5701 .G47 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-21
Building Codes Illustrated by Dive into the history and application of the IBC Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to the 2015 International Building Code, Fifth Edition is a bestselling complement to the International Building Code, or IBC. Designed to give you an insider's look at the origins of the IBC, how it can be interpreted, and how it applies to design and construction, this updated text offers new information regarding hazmat occupancies, hospitals, and nursing homes, major changes to how building heights and areas are presented, as well as means of egress, and the latest information on building materials, interior environments, and structural provisions. Francis D.K. Ching's distinctive illustrations and the code expertise of Steven Winkel, FAIA, give students and professionals in architecture, interior design, construction, and engineering industries a user-friendly, easy-to-use guide to fundamentally understanding the 2015 IBC. Building codes and standards serve to establish minimum regulations that emphasize performance while prioritizing public health and safety. Updated every three years, the IBC is the most important reference that you can leverage throughout your career in architecture, design, or engineering. The IBC is a national 'model building code' which is adopted in some form by most building permit jurisdictions across the nation and in several foreign countries. Access the updated regulations reflected in the 2015 IBC Explore how the IBC was developed, and why it is an important component of so many industries Identify the areas of the IBC that have undergone the most change, such as the presentation of building heights and areas, along with changes to means of egress provisions Easily navigate and digest the information with full illustrations Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to the 2015 International Building Code, Fifth Edition is a practical, fully illustrated reference that guides you through the latest in building code regulations.
Call Number: TH420 .C49 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Estimating in Heavy Construction by This book presents the theoretical background as well as best practice examples of estimating in heavy construction. The examples stem from practitioners in international large-scale construction projects. As distinct from other publications on estimating, this book presents specific numbers and costs are calculated precisely. In this way the book helps to avoid errors in the estimating of construction projects like roads, bridges, tunnels, and foundations.
Call Number: TH435 .E88 2017
Fatigue in Friction Stir Welding by Fatigue in Friction Stir Welding provides knowledge on how to design and fabricate high performance, fatigue resistance FSW joints. It summarizes fatigue characterizations of key FSW configurations, including butt and lap-shear joints. The book's main focus is on fatigue of aluminum alloys, but discussions of magnesium, steel, and titanium alloys are also included. The FSW process-structure-fatigue performance relationships, including tool rotation, travel speeds, and pin tools are covered, along with sections on extreme fatigue conditions and environments, including multiaxial, variable amplitude, and corrosion effects on fatigue of the FSW. From a practical design perspective, appropriate fatigue design guidelines, including engineering and microstructure-sensitive modeling approaches are discussed. Finally, an appendix with numerous representative fatigue curves for design and reference purposes completes the work.
Call Number: TS228.9 .J67 2019
Fundamentals of Machine Design: Volume 1 & 2 by Providing extensive coverage and comprehensive discussion on the fundamental concepts and processes of machine design, this book begins with detailed discussion of the types of materials, their properties and selection criteria for designing. The text, the first volume of a two volume set, covers different types of stresses including direct stress, bending stress, torsional stress and combined stress in detail. It goes on to explain various types of temporary and permanent joints including pin joint, cotter joint, threaded joint and welded joint. Finally, the book covers the design procedure of keys, cotters, couplings, shafts, levers and springs. Also examined are applications of different types of joints used in boilers, bridges, power presses, automobile springs, crew jack and coupling.
Call Number: TJ230 .S543 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-15
Canadian electrical code, part 1 : safety standard for electrical installations Overview For 90 years, the Canadian Electrical Code, Part I has been developed & updated to better protect electrical workers and promote improved consistency in electrical installations across the country. Developed with the participation of all Provincial and Territorial Authorities Having Jurisdiction and CSA Committee Members representing manufacturing, labour, education, design, conformity assessment, and all other areas of the Canadian electrical industry.
Call Number: Reference TK275 .C36 2018
Design for advanced manufacturing : technologies and processes by Cutting-edge coverage of the new processes, materials, and technologies that are revolutionizing the manufacturing industry Expertly edited by a past president of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers, this state-of-the-art resource picks up where the bestselling Design for Manufacturability Handbook left off. Within its pages, readers will find detailed, clearly written coverage of the technologies, and processes that have been developed and adopted in the manufacturing industry over the past sixteen years. More than this, the book also includes hard-to-find technical guidance and application information that can be used on the job to actually apply these cutting-edge processes and technologies in a real-world setting. Essential for manufacturing engineers and designers, Design for Advanced Manufacturing is enhanced by a host of international contributors, making the book a true global resource. * Information on the latest technologies and processes such as 3-D printing, nanotechnology, laser cutting, prototyping, additive manufacturing, and CAD/CAM software tools
Call Number: TA174 .D473 2017
Electrical Power Systems by Key Features:Y New edition in multi-colour with improvised figuresY Modern topics explained using Flow ChartsY Economic scheduling of Hydro-thermal Plants discussedY Solved examples, practice problems and multiple choice questions with answers provided.About the Book:This book provides a clear, systematic and exhaustive exposition of the various dimensions ofelectrical power systems. Both basic and advanced topics have been thoroughly explained andillustrated through solved examples.Salient Features:Y Fundamentals of power systems, line constant calculations and performance of overheadlines discussed.Y Mechanical design of lines, HVDC lines, Corona, Insulators and Insulated cablesexplained.Y Voltage control, Neutral grounding and Transients in power systems explained.Y Fault calculation, Protective relays including Digital relays and Circuit breakers discussedin that order.Y Power systems synchronous stability and Voltage stability explained.Y Insulation coordination and overvoltage protection explained.Y Z formulation, Power transformers and Synchronous machines as power system buselements highlighted.Y State Estimation of Power System under steady state conditions exhaustively covered.
Call Number: TK1001 .W33 2017
Advanced Machining Processes by Modeling and machining are two terms closely related. The benefits of the application of modeling on machining are well known. The advances in technology call for the use of more sophisticated machining methods for the production of high-end components. In turn, more complex, more suitable, and reliable modeling methods are required. This book pertains to machining and modeling, but focuses on the special aspects of both. Many researchers in academia and industry, who are looking for ways to refine their work, make it more detailed, increase their accuracy and reliability, or implement new features, will gain access to knowledge in this book that is very scare to find elsewhere.
Call Number: TJ1189 .A38 2018
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12E by This 100th Anniversary Edition has been extensively updated to deliver current, authoritative coverage of the topics most critical to today's Mechanical Engineer. Featuring contributions from more than 160 global experts, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get, accurate data and calculations along with clear explanations of current principles, important codes, standards, and practices. All-new sections including Applied Mechanics, Engineering Ethics, Digital Control Systems, Sensor and Actuators, Vehicle Electrification and Hybridization, and Nondestructive Testing. Coverage includes: * Mechanics of solids and fluids * Heat * Strength of materials * Materials of engineering * Fuels and furnaces * Machine elements * Power generation * Transportation * Fans, pumps, and compressors * Instruments and controls * Refrigeration, cryogenics, and optics * Applied mechanics * Engineering ethics
Call Number: TJ151 .M375 2018
Machining Fundamentals by Machining Fundamentalsis a comprehensive text that provides an introduction to the various machining operations, setups, and procedures. This colorful and detailed textbook covers all traditional machining methods, as well as newer and nontraditional methods. This edition includes expanded coverage of geometric dimensioning and tolerancing; additional features on careers, workplace skills, and green machining practices; and updated illustrations. Clear, easy-to-understand introduction to machining. Strong emphasis on safety throughout the textbook. Career Connections, Workplace Skills, and Green Machining features engage, motivate, and prepare students for career success. Heavily illustrated with well-designed, color-coded artwork to help students understand concepts quickly. Correlated to the duties and standards for NIMS Machining Level I to help students achieve certification.
Call Number: TJ1160 .W25 2019
National Plumbing Code of Canada by Division A. Compliance, Objectives and Functional Statements. Part 1. Compliance -- Part 2. Objectives -- Part 3. Functional statements -- Division B. Acceptable Solutions. Part 1. General -- Part 2. Plumbing systems -- Division C. Administrative Provisions. Part 1. General -- Part 2. Administrative provisions.
Call Number: Reference TH6225 .C36 2015
Barry's Introduction to Construction of Buildings by An authoritative, well-established, comprehensive, practical, and highly illustrated guide to construction practice Based mainly on domestic and residential buildings--and filled with extensive illustrations throughout--this concise text is the ideal introduction to the subject of building construction. It provides the basic material that readers need in order to understand the construction process for the majority of low rise buildings. The book explains construction technology through the key functional and performance requirements for the main elements common to all buildings. With a strong focus on building efficiency and meeting the challenges posed by limiting the environmental impact of buildings, and new "at a glance" summaries allowing you to grasp the salient points of each chapter, readers will find the text fully up to date with the latest building regulations and construction technology. Barry's Introduction to Construction of Buildings, Fourth Edition starts by taking an in-depth look at the construction process and general principles of construction. It then offers comprehensive chapter coverage of site analysis, set-up, drainage and scaffolding; ground stability and foundations; floors, walls, doors, windows, roofs, stairs, and ramps; surface finishes; internal environment and energy supply; and water supply and sanitation. Deals with design, technology, site assembly, and environmental issues of domestic and residential buildings Thoroughly updated, with particular attention paid to the concept of building efficiency and improved integration of the topics covered to match current student needs New "at a glance" summaries at the beginning of each chapter A companion to Barry's Advanced Construction of Buildings, Fourth Edition Barry's Introduction to Construction of Buildings is an excellent source of information for undergraduate students and those working towards similar NQF level 5 and 6 qualifications in building and construction.
Call Number: TH146 .E47 2019
Barry's Advanced Construction of Buildings by The updated edition of the authoritative and comprehensive guide to construction practice The revised fourth edition of Barry's Advanced Construction of Buildings expands on the resource that has become a standard text on the construction of buildings. The fourth edition covers the construction of larger-scale buildings (primarily residential, commercial and industrial) constructed with load bearing frames in timber, concrete and steel; supported by chapters on offsite construction, piling, envelopes to framed buildings, fit-out and second fix, lifts and escalators, building pathology, upgrading and demolition. The author covers the functional and performance requirements of the main building elements as well as building efficiency and information on meeting the challenges of limiting the environmental impact of buildings. Each chapter includes new "at a glance" summaries that introduce the basic material giving a good understanding of the main points quickly and easily. The text is fully up to date with the latest building regulations and construction technology. This important resource: Covers design, technology, offsite construction, site assembly and environmental issues of larger-scale buildings including primarily residential, commercial and industrial buildings constructed with load bearing frames Highlights the concept of building efficiency, with better integration of the topics throughout the text Offers new "at a glance" summaries at the beginning of each chapter Is a companion to Barry's Introduction to Construction of Buildings, fourth edition Written for undergraduate students and those working towards similar NQF level 5 and 6 qualifications in building and construction, Barry's Advanced Construction of Buildings is a practical and highly illustrated guide to construction practice. It covers the materials and technologies involved in constructing larger scale buildings.
Call Number: TH146 .E476 2019
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook by Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook, Second Edition, is a straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of the machine elements that are fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications. This updated edition includes new material on tolerancing, alternative approaches to design, and robotics, as well as references to the latest ISO and US engineering regulations. Sections cover bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belts and chains, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners, pneumatics and hydraulics, amongst other core mechanical elements. This practical handbook is an ideal shelf reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries. In addition, it is also a valuable learning resource for advanced students undertaking engineering design modules and projects as part of broader mechanical, aerospace, automotive and manufacturing programs.
Call Number: TJ230 .C456 2019
Electrical Installation Work 9th Ed by This highly successful book is now updated in line with the 18th Edition of the Wiring Regulations. Electrical Installation Workprovides a topic by topic progression through the areas of electrical installations, including how and why electrical installations are designed, installed and tested. Additional content in this edition includes detail on LED lighting and medical locations. A new appendix contains a glossary of electrical installation work terms, ensuring that readers of all levels of experience can easily grasp every topic. Brian Scaddan's subject-led approach makes this a valuable resource for professionals and students on both City & Guilds and EAL courses. This approach also makes it easy for those who are learning the topic from scratch to get to grips with it in a non syllabus-led way. The book is already widely used in education facilities across the UK. It has been published for almost 40 years, and in its current form since 1992.
Call Number: TK3271 .S267 2019
Process / Industrial Instruments and Controls Handbook, Sixth Edition by This fully updated on-the-job reference contains all the automation and control information you need to make timely decisions, and maximize process capacity and efficiency. Featuring contributions from 50 top technical experts, Process/Industrial Instruments and Controls Handbook, Sixth Edition covers the latest technologies and advances. More importantly, the book helps you select the right instrumentation, install and maintain it correctly, and leverage it to maximize plant performance and profitability. You will get all you need to know to execute a successful automation project including time-saving tables, lists of essential best practices, and hundreds of topic-defining illustrations. Coverage includes: * Process variable measurements * Analytical measurements * Control Network communications * Safety instrumented systems * Control systems fundamentals * PID control strategies * Continuous and batch control * Improving operator performance * Improving process performance * Project management * And more
Call Number: TS156.8 .M36 2019
Making it : manufacturing techniques for product design by "Invaluable easy-to-use guide to complicated manufacturing techniques written by a designer for designers - Diagrams and step-by-step photographs take you through each process while the text assesses its suitability for your needs - New edition [third] includes six new processes and an all-new section on joining techniques"--Back cover.
Call Number: TS183 .L44 2019
Quality Auditing in Construction Projects by This book provides construction professionals, designers, contractors and quality auditors involved in construction projects with the auditing skills and processes required to improve construction quality and make their projects more competitive and economical. The processes within the book focus on auditing compliance to ISO, corporate quality management systems, project specific quality management systems, contract management, regulatory authorities' requirements, safety, and environmental considerations. The book is divided into seven chapters and each chapter is divided into numbered sections covering auditing-related topics that have importance or relevance for understanding quality auditing concepts for construction projects. No other book covers construction quality auditing in such detail and with this level of practical application. It is an essential guide for construction and quality professionals, but also for students and academics interested in learning about quality auditing in construction projects. fessionals, but also for students and academics interested in learning about quality auditing in construction projects.
Call Number: TH438.2 R856 2019
Welding Print Reading by Welding Print Reading is a write-in text that teaches the welding symbols and specifications students need to understand to be successful. The format allows students to apply their knowledge to skill-based print reading activities. Beside aspiring welders who want to learn to interpret prints and drawings, the content is appropriate for students wanting to pursue careers in engineering and drafting. The text starts by reviewing the basics, including welding processes, and then progresses to more specialized topics, such as prints for pipe welding and brazed joints. In addition to conforming to the most recent AWS and ANSI standards, the text also exposes students to actual industry prints that may contain variation, preparing students for on the job experiences. Additional prints and questions are included in an end-of-text unit to provide students with more practice opportunities. Measurement and math reviews at the beginning of the text prepare students for the calculations they will need to make to be successful in class and on the job. Electronic print files of the drawings are available in Instructor Materials for in-class demonstration and flexible use.
Call Number: T379 .W28 2020
Complete Book of Framing by The bestselling step-by-step framing guide--updated and expanded to meet 2018 codes and standards Complete Book of Framing, Second Edition--Updated and Expanded is a comprehensive guide to rough carpentry and framing, written by an expert with over forty years of framing experience. This book guides the reader through step-by-step framing instructions for floors, walls, roofs, door and window openings, and stairs. Hundreds of full-color illustrations and photos enable novice and professional framers to understand and master framing techniques. This Updated and Expanded Second Edition includes the framing techniques of the 2018 International Building Code (IBC), International Residential Code (IRC), and updated OSHA rules. It also includes new coverage of today's electric tools, wind and earthquake framing, medical and physiological factors of framing, and a revised safety chapter. Builders will find information on nailing patters, overall layout, engineered wood patterns, and green framing. In addition, the book offers readers tools and techniques for preparing for a job and managing a team. This Second Edition--Updated and Expanded: Includes hundreds of full-color illustrations depicting step-by-step framing techniques Offers guidance on today's electric tools and structural enhancements for natural disasters Features a revised chapter on safety to reflect the medical and physiological factors of framing Meets the framing techniques of the 2018 International Building Code (IBC), International Residential Code (IRC), and Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) standards Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction, Second Edition--Updated and Expanded is an excellent resource for framers, carpenters, and contractors of all experience levels. Framer-friendly tips throughout the book show how to complete framing tasks efficiently and effectively.
Call Number: TH2301 .S483 2019
Essential Manufacturing by An introduction to the manufacturing industry Essential Manufacturing provides a comprehensive introduction to the wide breadth of the manufacturing industry. There is a need for all engineering and business students to understand the importance and context of the manufacturing industry. An engineer should have a well rounded appreciation of all aspects of the industry they work in, including manufacturing. This is evidenced by professional bodies expecting all accredited engineering courses to provide students with a background that allows them to see their own specific discipline in context. Similarly, business students will often find themselves dealing in some way with manufactured products or even be directly involved in manufacturing operations management. This book will cover the full spectrum of the manufacturing industry to provide a holistic appreciation of the topic but with enough detail to be of practical use. The book begins with an introduction to the manufacturing industry, its history, and some important manufacturing concepts. The materials used in manufacturing and how they are produced are covered. This is followed by a more detailed description of the more common manufacturing processes, their application, and the types of automation used in the manufacturing industry. Consideration is then given to the important aspects of manufacturing operations management and production planning and control, work study, and manufacturing economics. How to maintain quality in the manufacturing process, including metrology, is examined and this is followed by human factors in manufacturing. Finally, a speculative look at the future of manufacturing is included. Key features: Takes a self-contained approach. Includes review questions. Suitable as an introduction for more advanced study. Satisfies the requirements of college and first and second year university engineering courses. The book provides a comprehensive, concise introduction to the manufacturing industry for engineering and management students.
Call Number: TS183 .M233 2019
Fluid Power Circuits and Controls by Fluid Power Circuits and Controls: Fundamentals and Applications, Second Edition, is designed for a first course in fluid power for undergraduate engineering students. After an introduction to the design and function of components, students apply what they've learned and consider how the component operating characteristics interact with the rest of the circuit. The Second Edition offers many new worked examples and additional exercises and problems in each chapter. Half of these new problems involve the basic analysis of specific elements, and the rest are design-oriented, emphasizing the analysis of system performance. The envisioned course does not require a controls course as a prerequisite; however, it does lay a foundation for understanding the extraordinary productivity and accuracy that can be achieved when control engineers and fluid power engineers work as a team on a fluid power design problem. A complete solutions manual is available for qualified adopting instructors.
Call Number: TJ840 .C85 2020
Roadwork: theory and practice by Roadwork: Theory and Practice, now in its sixth edition, gives the essential information needed by every road worker, highway technician, incorporated, graduate or chartered engineer, not only by explaining the theory of road construction and its associated activities, but by illustrating its application with practical working methods that are in use in everyday engineering practice. As such, it successfully bridges the gap so often found between civil engineering theory and the day-to-day work of a highways engineer. The authors have drawn from a lifetime of experience in the construction industry and included current design and construction practices.
Call Number: TE175 .C615 2020
Frame Carpentry by Frame Carpentry from the editors of Fine Homebuilding provides the best field-tested information on framing efficiently, safely, and the right way the first time. No source of knowledge on framing is better respected or more widely followed than that provided by the authors of Fine Homebuilding magazine. At 240 pages with more than 350 illustrative on-the-job photos and drawings, Frame Carpentry distills centuries of hands-on builder-tested methods and techniques as the finest builders in the country pass on their hard-won trade secrets for better construction. You'll learn how to: frame a gable wall build a hybrid timber-frame floor lay out and cut roof rafters choose the right header for a wall work with pressure-treated lumber The book covers the basics of framing, as well as more advnced techniqes on framing for energy efficienty, wind-resistant framing, and framing with double-stud walls. There is also up-to-date information on the latest framing tools and materials. Frame Carpentry will serve as your definitive guide to framing.
Call Number: TH2301 .F73 2019
Renovation 5th Edition by "Renovation", used by home renovators for over 35 years, has now been completely revised and updated to reflect the new realities of planning carefully, spending wisely, maximizing space, and building durably
Reading a house -- Planning your renovation -- Tools -- Building materials -- Roofs -- Doors, windows, and skylights -- Exteriors -- Structural carpentry -- Masonry -- Foundations and concrete -- Electrical wiring -- Plumbing -- Kitchens and baths -- Energy conservation and air quality -- Finish surfaces -- Tiling -- Finish carpentry -- Painting -- Wallpapering -- Flooring
Call Number: TH4816 .L57 2019
Electronic Circuits by Electronics explained in one volume, using both theoretical and practical applications. Mike Tooley provides all the information required to get to grips with the fundamentals of electronics, detailing the underpinning knowledge necessary to appreciate the operation of a wide range of electronic circuits, including amplifiers, logic circuits, power supplies and oscillators. The 5th edition includes an additional chapter showing how a wide range of useful electronic applications can be developed in conjunction with the increasingly popular Arduino microcontroller, as well as a new section on batteries for use in electronic equipment and some additional/updated student assignments. The book's content is matched to the latest pre-degree level courses (from Level 2 up to, and including, Foundation Degree and HND), making this an invaluable reference text for all study levels, and its broad coverage is combined with practical case studies based in real-world engineering contexts. In addition, each chapter includes a practical investigation designed to reinforce learning and provide a basis for further practical work. A companion website at http://www.key2electronics.com offers the reader a set of spreadsheet design tools that can be used to simplify circuit calculations, as well as circuit models and templates that will enable virtual simulation of circuits in the book. These are accompanied by online self-test multiple choice questions for each chapter with automatic marking, to enable students to continually monitor their own progress and understanding. A bank of online questions for lecturers to set as assignments is also available.
Call Number: TK7867 .T6583 2020
Suggest a New Book
Please feel free to submit a request at any time to Jennifer Dupuis
An Order Form is provided here for your convenience.
Keep Us Current!
Found a link that isn't working? Is one of our resources out-of-date? Is there a great resource that we don't know about?
Get in touch with the library and let us know!
We can be reached by phone at 613-969-1913, Ext. 2249, or by email at email@example.com