Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Public Relations - New Book guide at the Parrott Centre Library.
This research guide combines new resources for your program, please check back often for updates!
Cases in Public Relations Management by Now in its third edition, Cases in Public Relations Management uses recent cases in strategic communication designed to encourage discussion, debate, and exploration of the options available to today's strategic public relations manager, with the help of extensive supplemental materials. Key features of this text include coverage of the latest controversies in current events, discussion of the ethical issues that have made headlines in recent years, and strategies used by public relations practitioners. The problem-based case study approach encourages readers to assess what they know about communication theory, the public relations process, and management practices. New to the third edition: Eighteen new cases including Snap, Wells Fargo, SeaWorld, United Airlines, and Starbucks. Additional emphasis on social media and social responsibility for communication management today. End-of-chapter activities that reinforce concepts. Developed for advanced students in strategic communication and public relations, this book prepares them for their future careers as communication and public relations professionals. The new edition features a fully enhanced companion website that includes resources for both instructors and students. Instructors will find PowerPoint Lecture Slides, Case Supplements, Instructor Guides, and Answer Keys for Quizzes and End-of-Chapter Activities. Students will benefit from Quizzes, a Glossary, and Case Supplements.
Call Number: HD59 .S93 2020
The Public Relations Strategic Toolkit by The Public Relations Strategic Toolkitpresents guidance to instruct and educate students and professionals of public relations and corporate communications. Alison Theaker and Heather Yaxley cover every aspect of critical practice, including definitions of public relations, key theoretical concepts and both original and established methodological approaches. Case studies and interviews are featured to provide real-world context and advice for professional development. The new edition is fully revised with brand new case studies and updated content which reflect significant developments in theory and contemporary practice. It puts particular emphasis on the use of technology (including automation) and social media in current public relations planning, corporate communications and stakeholder engagement. The book is divided into four parts; covering the profession, public relations planning, corporate communication and stakeholder engagement. Features include: definitions of key terms contemporary case studies interviews with practitioners handy checklists practical activities and assignments. By combining theory and practice, with an invaluable insight from experts in the field, this guide will introduce readers to all the professional skills needed for a career in public relations.
Call Number: HD59 .T44 2018
Fundraising Principles and Practice by The complete guide to fundraising planning, tools, methods, and more Fundraising Principles and Practice provides a unique resource for students and professionals seeking to deepen their understanding of fundraising in the current nonprofit environment. Based on emerging research drawn from economics, psychology, social psychology, and sociology, this book provides comprehensive analysis of the nonprofit sector. The discussion delves into donor behavior, decision making, social influences, and models, then uses that context to describe today's fundraising methods, tools, and practices. A robust planning framework helps you set objectives, formulate strategies, create a budget, schedule, and monitor activities, with in-depth guidance toward assessing and fine-tuning your approach. Coverage includes online fundraising, major gifts, planned giving, direct response, grants, corporate fundraising, and donor retention, with an integrated pedagogical approach that facilitates active learning. Case studies and examples illustrate the theory and principles presented, and the companion website offers additional opportunity to deepen your learning and assess your knowledge. Fundraising has become a career specialty, and those who are successful at it are among the most in-demand in the nonprofit world. Great fundraisers make an organization's mission possible, and this book covers the essential information you need to help your organization succeed. Adopt an organized approach to fundraising planning Learn the common behaviors and motivations of donors Master the tools and practices of nonprofit fundraising Manage volunteers, monitor progress, evaluate events, and more Fundraising is the the nonprofit's powerhouse. It's the critical component that supports and maintains all activities, and forms the foundation of the organization itself. Steady management, clear organization, effective methods, and the most up-to-date tools are vital to the role, and familiarity with donor psychology is essential for using these tools to their utmost capability. Fundraising Principles and Practice provides a comprehensive guide to all aspects of the field, with in-depth coverage of today's most effective approaches.
Call Number: HG177 .S27 2017
Becoming a Public Relations Writer by Becoming a Public Relations Writer is a comprehensive guide to the writing process for public relations practice. Using straightforward, no-nonsense language, realistic examples, easy-to-follow steps, and practical exercises, this text introduces the various formats and styles of writing you will encounter as a public relations practitioner. A focus on ethical and legal issues is woven throughout, with examples and exercises addressing public relations as practiced by corporations, non-profit agencies, and other types of organizations both large and small. In addition, the book offers the most comprehensive list of public relations writing formats to be found anywhere¿from the standard news release to electronic mail and other opportunities using a variety of technologies and media. The fifth edition has been updated to reflect significant developments in the public relations field, including: New and updated information on research into persuasion and social psychology aimed at helping readers be more influential in their writing. Significant updating on a new chapter on multimedia, introducing a new transmedia format for a comprehensive news package for print, broadcast, online and social media. Expansion of a chapter on websites, blogs and wikis. Expansion of the chapter on direct mail and online appeals. Updated examples of actual pieces of public relations writing. A companion website with resources for instructors and students, including a glossary, flashcards, exercises, and appendices on ethical standards, careers in public relations, and professional organizations. Through its comprehensive and accessible approach, Becoming a Public Relations Writer is an invaluable resource for future and current public relations practitioners.
Call Number: HM1221 .S768 2017 (In Process)
Strategic Planning for Public Relations by Strategic Planning for Public Relations is in its fifth edition of offering an innovative and clear approach for students looking to learn how to develop public relations campaigns. It is a text intended for those serious about entering the rapidly changing professions of public relations and strategic communication. Ronald Smith shows how to implement pragmatic, research-driven strategic campaigns used in public relations practice, and draws from his years of experience as a professional in the industry and his years of teaching in the classroom. The approach used in this text is a threefold pattern: first, readers are exposed to new ideas, then see them in use, before finally being showed how to apply those ideas themselves. Complex problem-solving and decision-making processes in strategic communication and public relations are turned into a series of easy-to-follow steps, flexible enough to be applicable to myriad situations and organizations in the real world. This new fifth edition follows the same format as previous editions and includes numerous timely and real-world examples of cases and current events, along with classic cases that stand the test of time. It includes new research on opinions and practices within the discipline and covers several recent, award-winning public relations campaigns.
Call Number: HM1221 .S77 2017
Communications Writing and Design by Communications Writing and Design is an integrated, project-based introduction to effective writing and design across the persuasive domains of communication. Build a strong foundation of core writing and design skills using professionally-designed examples that illustrate and reinforce key principles Readers learn and analyze techniques by creating 15 projects in marketing, advertising, PR, and social media with the help of strategy suggestions, practical tips, and professional production techniques Written by an experienced professional and teacher, with a focus on the cross-disciplinary nature of contemporary communication work Learning is reinforced through a variety of pedagogical features: learning objectives, helpful mnemonics, real-life projects and applications, chapter references for further study, and end-of-chapter summaries and exercises A companion website with multimedia slides, exam questions, learning videos, and design guides provides additional learning tools for students and instructors
Call Number: HF5415.123 D566 2017
Events Management by Contemporary events management is a diverse and challenging field. This introductory textbook fully explores the multidisciplinary nature of events management and provides the student with all the practical skills and professional knowledge they need in order to succeed in the events industry. It introduces every core functional area of events management, such as marketing, finance, project management, strategy, operations, event design and human resources, in a vast array of different event settings from sport to political events. This new edition has been updated to include: * New and updated content on developments in technology, risk management and event volunteering. * New and updated case studies that include emerging economies. * New industry voices by international practitioners. Every topic is brought to life through vivid case studies, personal biographies and examples of best practice from the real world of events management. Written by a team of authors with many years' experience of working in the events industry, Events Management: An Introductionis the essential course text for any events management programme.
Call Number: GT3405 .B53 2018
How to Run Seminars and Workshops by Make your message stick with expert help from this classic trainer's resource How to Run Seminars and Workshops is the classic guide for trainers and presenters in any industry. Packed with clear advice and real-world practicality, this book covers all aspects including planning, setup, delivery, coaching, and more'including valuable guidance on selling your services. This new Fourth Edition has been updated and expanded, with new information on training simulations, self-marketing, and online delivery. New templates and worksheets help you sell your presentation more effectively, and insider tips leave you equipped to handle any situation that might arise. Novice presenters will find extensive guidance for every phase of the process, and even veteran presenters will learn how to fine-tune and adjust their methods to suit their audience and mode of delivery. Most trainers and presenters know all they need to know about their chosen topic, but very few know how to present it effectively. For more than a decade, this book has been training the trainers'from behind-the-scenes preparations to "in the pit" performance and working with trainees hands-on, straightforward guidance shows you how to: Capture and hold the audience's interest with expert pacing and visual aids Take advantage of new technologies that make training more accessible Prepare each session thoroughly to avoid mistakes, malfunctions, and delays Offer effective feedback, fine-tune delivery, market your services, and more As training departments shrink'many disappearing entirely'more and more companies are turning to keynote and workshop delivery as a way of reaching key clients. Podcasts are replacing live training, and new technology is continually changing the way presentations are made. Professional trainers and speakers must understand the nuances of any audience/delivery permutation, and tailor their methods to match. How to Run Seminars and Workshops is a trusted resource for presenters seeking to boost their effectiveness at any level, in any industry.
Call Number: AS6 .J65 2017
Extraordinary Pr, Ordinary Budget by Low Cost, High Impact! Public relations is a make-or-break factor for all organizations, especially those that are small or mission driven. While it can be tempting to think that PR is a luxury only larger organizations can afford, PR expert Jennifer R. Farmer shows how her CCRR framework-being credible, creative, responsive, and relentless-is the silver bullet for even cash-strapped organizations. Farmer emphasizes that effective public relations is in fact an essential component of organizational development-people need to know about you for your organization to have maximum impact. Her CCRR framework leverages tools everyone has access to, from social media to brand transparency, and requires attentiveness more than money. Farmer shows you that, no matter how modest your budget, you can build a cost-effective communications strategy that will help you break through the noise in an information-overloaded world.
Call Number: HD59 .F37 2017
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Public Relations by Critical theory has a long history, but a relatively recent intersection with public relations. This ground-breaking collection engages with commonalities and differences in the traditions, whilst encouraging plural perspectives in the contemporary public relations field. Compiled by a high-profile and widely respected team of academics and bringing together other key scholars from this field and beyond, this unique international collection marks a major stage in the evolution of critical public relations. It will increasingly influence how critical theory informs public relations and communication. The collection takes stock of the emergence of critical public relations alongside diverse theoretical traditions, critiques and actions, methodologies and future implications. This makes it an essential reference for public relations researchers, educators and students around a world that is becoming more critical in the face of growing inequality and environmental challenges. The volume is also of interest to scholars in advertising, branding, communication, consumer studies, cultural studies, marketing, media studies, political communication and sociology. y and environmental challenges. The volume is also of interest to scholars in advertising, branding, communication, consumer studies, cultural studies, marketing, media studies, political communication and sociology.
Call Number: HM1221 .R68 2017
Event Management in Sport, Recreation and Tourism by Event Management in Sport, Recreation and Tourism provides a comprehensive theoretical and practical framework for planning and managing events. Focusing on the role of event managers and their diverse responsibilities through each phase of the event planning process, this is still the only textbook to define the concept of knowledge in the context of event management, placing it at the centre of professional practice. Designed to encourage critical thinking on the part of the student, this book helps them develop the skills that they will need to become effective and reflective practitioners in the events industry. Containing a rich array of international real-world case studies, data and practical examples from sport, recreation and tourism contexts, this third edition is also enhanced by two completely new chapters on contemporary management issues and ethics in event management. Event Management in Sport, Recreation and Tourism is essential reading for any student or practitioner working in event management, sport management, leisure management, outdoor recreation or tourism. lt;P>Event Management in Sport, Recreation and Tourism is essential reading for any student or practitioner working in event management, sport management, leisure management, outdoor recreation or tourism.
Call Number: GT3405 .E94 2017
Global and Multicultural Public Relations by An overview of the practice of strategic global and multicultural public relations in various sectors Global and Multicultural Public Relations offers students an expert overview of specific public relations practices, focused on strategic analyses of actual case studies and real-world examples. Emphasizing practice rather than theory, this valuable resource explores innovative communication programs that are designed to address culturally-diverse communities worldwide. The five-step strategic public relations process--formative research, planning, implementation, evaluation, and stewardship--is extensively examined and applied to a variety of scenarios, helping students understand the realty of modern public relations practice. All aspects of public relations practice, including media relations, government relations, employee communications, and shareholder relations are covered to help students gain solid foundational knowledge. Broad in scope, this textbook identifies and describes the strategy formulation and implementation process in private, government, non-profit, and various other sectors. Academic and trade articles, book chapters, original case studies, and new primary research offer students a realistic and sophisticated approach to global public relations. Figures, tables, photographs, and charts illustrate each topic, while highlighted learning objectives and key points, discussion questions, and framed sections on ethical considerations and best practices strengthen student comprehension. Employs a real-world approach to public relations principles, practices, and strategies Focuses on global public relations rather than outdated nation-centered models Fills a gap in current literature on multinational and multicultural public relations Explains the public relations strategies that are best suited for each sector Includes summary sections that contain suggested readings and supplemental online links Designed for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students, Global and Multicultural Public Relations is an ideal textbook for courses in international public relations, global communication, public relations management, and multinational management, as well as business, political sciences, and public administration.
Call Number: HD59 .M586 2019
Public Relations Planning by Public Relations Planning provides students with an in-depth understanding of the steps involved in planning and executing a successful PR campaign. Taking a strategic approach to the subject, the author brings years of practical experience to the project, helping students see how it all fits together in reality. The book goes beyond an introductory discussion of the theory of PR planning, incorporating material from cutting-edge research in the field. A discussion of the psychological aspects of communication, material on in-house/employee communication, as well as a chapter dedicated to discussing how social media strategies fit into a PR campaign, give students a real edge when it comes to executing an effective campaign. Plenty of global examples and a companion website featuring PP slides, a test bank, answer key for end-of-chapter questions, and videos round out this excellent resource for students of public relations and corporate communication.
Call Number: HM1221 .V54 2019
Social Media Strategy by Create a long-term, integrated customer engagement strategy using effective social media campaigns that will enhance ROI across digital channels, using structured and practical guidance plus global case studies from National Geographic, Lush, South West Airlines, Dreams and more. Organizations often talk of digital planning but struggle to know which channels to invest in, how to integrate them with content marketing activity, or fail to develop measurable outputs that align with business objectives. This book provides a clear road map for efficient planning, deliverance and financial accountability of social media's contribution to the business. Social Media Strategy provides a simple, structured way to create integrated customer engagement and social media campaigns that work, delivering practical guidance on key areas, such as: -Identifying and targeting audience segments -Methods of two-way community engagement -Reputation management -Being present on the right channels -Driving action through influencers -Identifying the relevant tools and platforms to audit, track and measure business impact and customer engagement With example templates, interviews and global case studies including National Geographic, Lush, South West Airlines, Dreams, Mumsnet and more, this professional guide delivers a long-term solution for maximizing social media led business development for any business.
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .A84 2020
Suggest a New Book
Please feel free to submit a request at any time to Jennifer Dupuis
An Order Form is provided here for your convenience.
Keep Us Current!
Found a link that isn't working? Is one of our resources out-of-date? Is there a great resource that we don't know about?
Get in touch with the library and let us know!
We can be reached by phone at 613-969-1913, Ext. 2249, or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org