Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Paramedic & Firefighter - New Book guide at the Parrott Centre Library.
This research guide combines new resources for your program, check back often for updates!
Paramedic & Firefighter
Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice by Driven by changes to clinical practice, new evidence-based research, and shifts in global economics and politics, the field of paramedic science is rapidly evolving. This new edition of Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice offers students and recently qualified practitioners an accessible and comprehensive introduction to paramedic science and pre-hospital care, providing expert and up-to-date guidance on the essential theories and real-world practice of this dynamic area of emergency medicine. Assuming no prior knowledge of the subject, this user-friendly textbook provides broad and inclusive coverage of topics including professionalism, law and ethics, assessment skills, research methods, pharmacology and more. Contributions from experienced paramedics and clinicians, contemporary case studies, full-colour illustrations and powerful pedagogical tools help students gain a thorough understanding of the essential components of paramedic practice. Employs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to the study of paramedic practice, presenting theoretical and clinical topics in a straightforward and student-friendly manner New chapters on toxicology, medical terminology and low acuity care in paramedicine, with an increased focus on mental health Includes new end-of-chapter learning activities and quizzes, case studies and references, charts and diagrams Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice: A Systems Approach is an invaluable resource for undergraduate paramedic and emergency care students as well as qualified paramedics, clinicians and educators seeking an authoritative reference on current practice.
Call Number: RC86.7 F86 2020
Elevator and Escalator Rescue by The long-awaited second edition of Elevator & Escalator Rescue: A Comprehensive Guideis written by firefighters for firefightersand contains important information for technical rescue members, training officers, and fire company members alike. This book details the risks involved in elevator and escalator rescues and how to face them successfully. Key Features and Benefits: A comprehensive guide for dealing with elevator and escalator emergencies, including a complete review and updating of all chapters. Coverage spanning the evolution of elevators from their most primitive stages to include today's high-tech innovations, modular, wind turbine, pneumatic and destination control systems as well as STM suspension belts. A new chapter (Chapter 35) containing information and the description about the Fire Service Access Elevator (FSAE). What they are, where will they be found, and building code changes that will help safeguard the firefighters using these elevators. This will include the use of a Narrative Sheet to ensure compliance with requirements. A new chapter (Chapter 33) on the Occupant Evacuation Operation (OEO) and Occupant Evacuation Elevator (OEE) elevators. These systems are already in place in new design ultra high-rise buildings in the US. They will be used to evacuate the occupants in these buildings. An updated elevator glossary of elevator and escalator terminology. Chapter ending questions to test students' comprehension.
Call Number: TH9445.E48 J37 2019
Developing Firefighter Resiliency by Three Key Messages This is important. You can do it. I won't give up on you. Training ordinary people to do extraordinary things requires an understanding of how we learn. Developing Firefighter Resiliencystarts with the basic psychophysical aspects of learning. The fire service has unwittingly used a failure-based training model for many years. Hands-on training exercises are often based on unachievable objectives. Trainers are often not educated about the psychology of adult learning or the effect of stress during learning. Consequently, participants face learning activities with mastery-level skill requirement to succeed when competency has yet to be established. This amounts to a never-ending diet of tests without actual skill development. Accessing knowledge under extreme circumstances cannot be left to chance, because the penalty for failure is severe. This book provides the roadmap for a journey to train, establish relevancy for the lessons, develop competency in the skills, and capitalize on confidence to achieve mastery. We study the impact of a stressful environment on the ability to learn and function.
Call Number: TH9120 .C37 2019
Fire Service Ethics by Fire Service Ethics is the first textbook specifically developed to help fire service personnel deal with ethical dilemmas. Firefighters and fire service leaders will find benefit from this important tool to aid them in dealing with complex issues. No other profession places such discretionary burden on its practitioners as the fire service. The military, law enforcement, the medical profession, and legal profession all provide a robust set of ethical policies and guidelines to their members. Fire Service Ethics provides the foundation for creating ethical boundaries. Fire Service Ethics meets and exceeds the course outcomes and course objectives for the National Fire Academy FESHE Model Curriculum Bachelor's (Non-Core) course called Fire Service Ethics (C0303). It is also well suited for fire officer and administration development programs. Section 1 of the book is entitled Foundations. Its four chapters are intended to provide the reader with the basic understanding of ethics necessary to master the material in the succeeding three sections. Chapter 1 is recommended for all readers, as it addresses the important questions of ethical relevance to the fire service. Chapters 2, 3 & 4 are grounded in academic approaches to ethics and are specifically intended to be used in college courses. The material within the sections encourages critical analysis of ethical systems, and understanding of the basics of human behavior. Section 2 of the book is entitled Ethics on The Line. Its chapters address issues directly related to rank-and-file firefighters, and company officers. The section also deals with diversity; first as an abstract concept, and then as it applies specifically to the fire service. Section 2 is intended to serve dual purposes. First, it is designed to be included in an academic curriculum aimed at future firefighters. Secondly, Section 2 - combined with Section 4 - encompasses the majority of material appropriate for inclusion in fire service training programs. Section 3 of the text is dedicated to Administrative Ethics. The chapters within the section explore ethics issues faced by fire chiefs and senior administrative personnel. Included within the section are chapters on the building and maintenance of an ethical work culture, the ethical responsibilities associated with administration, and finally, ethics laws. Section 3 - combined with Sections 1 and 4 - is especially appropriate for officer development programs and collegiate programs in fire administration. Section 4 of the book is entitled Applied Ethics. The three chapters within the section deal with the application of ethics on the personal and department level. Included within the section are chapters on ethical decision-making, mechanisms by which unethical behavior is engaged, and a review of current ethical issues affecting local fire departments. Section 4 is universal in its application and should be used in all collegiate programs, as well as in firefighter and fire officer training programs.
Call Number: TH9158 .W36 2020
Fire Officer's Handbook of Tactics by With his fifth edition, Chief John Norman offers lessons learned during his extensive and time-honored career. Chief Norman imparts wisdom and experience by offering advice informed by actual outcomes from the fireground. This guide continues to be invaluable for firefighters aspiring to the officer level and those seeking to promote safety and effectiveness in their organization and the communities they serve by improving their own skills. This fifth edition conveys valuable information gained over the past several years from scientific research relating to the tactics that we use to the changes that have taken place within our communities. Failure to recognize change and adapt to it places a fire department at a great disadvantage and can cost lives and property. The community changes that most directly affect the fire service today include faster, hotter, and more toxic fires and significantly reduced staffing in many fire departments. These are inescapable facts. Our challenge is to use the knowledge that is at our disposal to select the right tools, technologies, and tactics to safely and successfully adapt to and overcome these challenges.
Call Number: TH9145 .N59 2019
McGraw-Hill Education's EMT-Paramedic Exam Review by The ultimate one-stop success guide to the EMT-Paramedic exam--now fully updated! ; If you want to ace the EMT Paramedic Certification Exam, there''s no better study partner than McGraw-Hill Education''s EMT-Paramedic Exam Review. Based on in-the-trenches insights from seasoned EMT instructor Peter A. DiPrima, Jr., this concise, skill-building learning tool helps you think through pre-hospital medicine while covering every must-know topic on the exam--from pharmacology to hazardous materials awareness. Each chapter begins with a clinical scenario followed by a bulleted overview of key topics and is summarized by chapter-ending Q&As. Also included are valuable exam preparation tips, the do''s and don''ts of answering multiple-choice questions, and much more. Turn to any page, and you''ll see that the Third Edition of McGraw-Hill Education''s EMT-Paramedic Exam Review has everything you need to boost your confidence--and your score. Rely on this indispensable resource for: A complete 180-question practice exam at the end of the book New and improved online question bank (available at www.mcgrawhillemt.com) with over 360 EMT-P practice questions--and answers that correspond to topics in the text High-yield outline format bolstered by Q&As, realistic clinical scenarios, and retention-enhancing bulleted content Seven sections that incorporate the most recent Paramedic National Curriculum Content corresponding to National EMS Education Standards Updated section on Advanced Life Support Monitoring featuring chapters on 12-lead ECG, Capnography, and Understanding Blood Chemistry EKGs and ECGs that enhance your comfort level with reading leads--a growing part of the EMT''s job function Photographs facilitating the identification of critical instruments and equipment And more! Peter A. DiPrima, Jr., EMT-P is a Lakeland Fire District Firefighter/Paramedic. He is also a Port Jefferson Ambulance EMS Supervisor, and an EMT Training Unit Supervisor with the Suffolk County Police Department in Ronkonkoma, New York.
Call Number: RC86.9 .D57 2016
Musculoskeletal Injuries and Conditions by Musculoskeletal Injuries and Conditions: Assessment and Management is a practical guide to diagnosis and treatment of musculoskeletal conditions in clinical practice. More comprehensive than a handbook, yet more clinically-focused than a desk reference, this volume is a one-stop guide for clinicians who deal with musculoskeletal disorders and injuries in the practice setting. The book is organized by anatomic region, from neck to toe, and written in outline format. Each chapter concisely presents the basic knowledge that every practitioner needs to have at the ready in the outpatient clinical context. Taking a uniform approach based on isolating symptoms and the location of the pain, the book presents a uniquely practical template for nonoperative management of a broad spectrum of musculoskeletal problems. All chapters include epidemiology, anatomy, biomechanics, physical examination, diagnostic studies, and treatment. Flowcharts for differential diagnosis and initial management are provided for chief complaints. Helpful tables, lists, and over 150 anatomic illustrations supplement the text throughout. Given the increasing importance of ultrasound in clinical decision-making at the point of care, a mini-atlas of normal and abnormal findings for common injuries is presented as part of the imaging work-up. Designed to help busy practitioners diagnose and treat musculoskeletal disorders in the clinic or office, this book is an essential resource for physicians in rehabilitation and sports medicine, primary care, orthopedics, and other health care professionals who work in outpatient settings. KEY FEATURES Provides a consistent approach to managing common musculoskeletal conditions based on location of pain Bulleted format and clear heading structure make it easy to find informationMore than 30 flowcharts map out differential diagnosis, diagnostic approach, and initial management strategy for each complaintPacked with useful tables, lists, and over 150 illustrations of surface anatomyIntegrates musculoskeletal ultrasound into the imaging workup, with over 40 normal and abnormal scans to aid in recognizing signature pathologies at the point of care Purchase includes access to the fully-searchable downloadable e-book with image bank
Call Number: RC925.5 .L44 2017
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Perform an accurate, efficient, and effective physical examination with confidence. Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking provides authoritative, step-by-step guidance on performing the patient interview and physical examination, applying clinical reasoning, shared decision-making, and other core assessment skills--all based on a firm understanding of clinical evidence. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format featuring examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. Bates' also includes a unit on special populations, covering special stages in the life cycle--infancy through adolescence, pregnancy, and aging. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points throughout the text. Text boxes help readers quickly find important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Many new and updated photographs and illustrations support the text, and figures are now numbered for easy identification and reference. Rewritten chapter on evaluating clinical evidence clarifies key concepts to ensure student understanding. Revised and expanded chapter on the skin, hair, and nails includes new dermatology photographs and provides the framework for assessing common lesions and abnormalities. Updated behavior and mental status chapter now references DSM-5. Significantly revised information on obesity and nutrition counseling; cardiovascular risk factor screening and new clinical guidelines; new screening guidelines for breast cancer, colon cancer, Papanicolau smears, and stroke risk factors; updated information on STIs; new geriatric assessment tools; and much more. New life cycle content, including an increased emphasis on cardiovascular health promotion and child development; updated pregnancy topics such as weight gain, substance abuse, and intimate partner violence; and new information on the older adult, including frailty, immunizations, cancer screening, cognitive decline and dementia screening, and a new algorithm for falls prevention. Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking is the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance on mastering every aspect of the all-important physical examination.
Call Number: RC76 .B478 2017
Calculating Drug Dosages by Master math concepts. Ensure patient safety. Conquer your fears and understand the most common math concepts used in nursing practice today. Step-by-step guidance shows you how to accurately calculate drug dosages using all four methods. Build your confidence with thousands of review questions in the text and interactive exercises online at DavisPlus. "The text Calculating Drug Doses is very helpful in teaching dimensional analysis. I was able to help 4th semester students with their clinical drug test achieve 100% with the examples in the book! I would recommend this text for beginning and advanced RN students." - Pamela Vogel, RN MSN WHNP, Fresno City College
Call Number: RS57 .M37 2017
Hazmat Medical Life Support by The Hazmat medical life support basic provider course book aims to equip medical responders to a hazmat incident -- chemical, radiological or biological -- with essential skills and knowledge to safely manage casualties. It includes basic information about hazmat agents and provides easy to remember algorithmic approaches for the on-scene management of a hazmat event. Essential information on setting up medical operations, triaging and approach to hazmat event, personal protective equipment, decontamination, wound management, life support as well as paediatric-specific issues are discussed in this book.
Call Number: RC87.3 .H39 2014
Paramedic Care by For courses in Paramedic Emergency Medical Services. A strong, evidence-based foundation in the principles and practices of modern EMS; Paramedic Care: Principles & Practice, 5th Edition, offers EMS students and professionals a foundational guide and reference to paramedicine. Developed to stay ahead of current trends and practices, all five volumes are based on the National EMS Education Standards and the accompanying Paramedic Instructional Guidelines. Volume 1, Introduction to Advanced Prehospital Care, covers the principles of advanced prehospital care and EMS operations. Chapters detail the various aspects of paramedic practice as well as an introduction to workforce safety and wellness, EMS research, the EMS role in public health, legal and ethical considerations, and EMS system communications and documentation. The final chapters of this volume cover lifespan development, pathophysiology, emergency pharmacology, intravenous access and medication administration, and airway management and ventilation. Updated throughout, Volume 1 gives readers a fundamental understanding of EMS operations, basic medical science, and basic procedures.
Call Number: Course Reserves-3 hour loan RC86.7 B5964 2017
Publication Date: 5 vol. set
Emergency medical responder : a skills approach by "This book has been adapted for the exclusive use of the Canadian emergency medical responder (EMR). An EMR may be a member of any of the three emergency services-ambulance, fire, or police-or may be a specially trained private citizen or public employee. Around the world, the field of emergency medical services (EMS) changes constantly. This book, written specifically for Canadians, will help students learn and adapt to the contemporary practice of pre-hospital care."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: RC86.7 L558 2019
Understanding EKGs by For courses in paramedics. A simple five-step approach to interpreting EKGs Understanding EKGs: A Practical Approach is a practical yet comprehensive guide to basic EKG interpretation. With short, succinct chapters that work consecutively, this text is for the healthcare provider who is new to cardiovascular anatomy, physiology, and rhythm strip interpretation. Hundreds of review questions and review strips reinforce course material. The 5th edition reflects the most up-to-date standards of care, including the updated guidelines of the American Heart Association. The new edition also features 50 additional review questions, expanded graphics, and new or enhanced chapter objectives.
Call Number: RC683.5.E5 B378 2019
Rhetorical Work in Emergency Medical Services by Rhetorical Work in Emergency Medical Services: Communicating in the Unpredictable Workplace details how communicators harness the power of rhetoric to make decisions and communicate in unpredictable contexts. Grounded in a 16-month study in the emergency medical services (EMS) workplace, this text contributes to our theoretical, methodological, and practical understandings of the situation-specific processes that communicators and researchers engage in to respond to the urgencies and constraints of high-stakes workplaces. This book presents these intricate processes and skills¿learned and innate¿that workplace communicators use to accomplish goal-directed activity, collaborate with other communicators, and complete and teach workplace writing.
Call Number: RC86.3 .A54 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
Suggest a New Book
Please feel free to submit a request at any time to Jennifer Dupuis
An Order Form is provided here for your convenience.
Keep Us Current!
Found a link that isn't working? Is one of our resources out-of-date? Is there a great resource that we don't know about?
Get in touch with the library and let us know!
We can be reached by phone at 613-969-1913, Ext. 2249, or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org