Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Justice Studies - New Book guide at the Parrott Centre Library.
This guide combines new resources for the following programs:
- Community and Justice Services
- Customs Border Services
- Police Foundations
- Protection, Security & Investigation
The Skin We're In: a year of black resistance and power by In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates, a bracing, provocative and perspective-shifting book from one of Canada's most celebrated and uncompromising writers, Desmond Cole. The Skin We're In will spark a national conversation, influence policy and inspire activists.
Call Number: FC106.B6 C65 2020
High Time : the legalization and regulation of cannabis in Canada by Canada has become the first G7 country to legalize cannabis, and the world is watching. The primary concern facing the Liberal government as it seeks to fulfill its 2015 campaign promise to "legalize, regulate, and restrict access to marijuana" is whether it can be done without making the situation worse. As the Liberal platform pointed out, the current regime lets illegal cannabis fall into the hands of minors, pours large profits into organized crime, and traps many people in the criminal justice system for what is arguably a victimless crime. While the legalization of marijuana in Canada begins with a straightforward change of the criminal code, its ramifications go far beyond this. Legalization will have a serious impact on the country's international treaty commitments, interprovincial relations, taxation and regulatory regimes, and social and health policies. The essays in this book address these outcomes from three main perspectives: the decades-long political path to legalization; the assumptions that underwrite the new policy, in particular the desire to stamp out the black market; and how legalization in Canada looks in an international context. Bringing together analysis by policy makers and scholars, including the architect of marijuana legislation in Portugal - a trailblazing jurisdiction - High Time provides an urgent and necessary overview of Canada's Cannabis Act.
Call Number: KE3722.M3 H54 2019
The Canadian Constitution in transition by "The year 2017 marked the 150th anniversary of Confederation and the 1867 Constitution Act. Anniversaries like these are often seized upon as opportunities for retrospection. This volume, by contrast, takes a distinctively forward-looking approach. Featuring essays from both emerging and established scholars, The Canadian Constitution in Transition reflects on the ideas that will shape the development of Canadian constitutional law in the decades to come. Moving beyond the frameworks that previous generations used to organize constitutional thinking, the scholars in this volume highlight new and innovative approaches to perennial problems, and seek new insights on where constitutional law is heading. Featuring fresh scholarship from contributors who will lead the constitutional conversation in the years ahead - and who represent the gender, ethnic, linguistic, and demographic make-up of contemporary Canada - The Canadian Constitution in Transition enriches our understanding of the Constitution of Canada, and uses various methodological approaches to chart the course toward the bicentennial."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: KE4219 .C345 2019
Drug-impaired driving in Canada by "While drug-impaired driving has been a criminal offence in Canada since 1925, it has only truly come into its own with the approval of the DRE and SFST tests in 2008. The legalization of marijuana and the imposition of per se limits for a number of drugs emphasizes the importance of a concise source of information for the complex matters raised in which these cases. Drug-Impaired Driving in Canada is a ready reference for prosecutors, defence lawyers, and the judiciary, covering the matters unique to drug-impaired driving cases. Key areas covered include the Drug Recognition Exercises, the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests, specimen testing for drugs, specialized experts, new provincial and federal legislation on the topic and caselaw in this developing area. This text provides a breakdown of the intricate issues that pervade drug-impaired driving cases."-- Provived by publisher.
Call Number: KE2114 .B35 2018
Perilous Policing by Policing and police practices have changed dramatically since the 9/11 terrorist attacks and those changes have accelerated since the summer of 2014 and the death of Michael Brown at the hands of then-police officer Darren Wilson in Ferguson, Missouri. Since the November 2016 election of Donald Trump as president, many law enforcement practitioners, policy makers, and those concerned with issues of social justice have had concerns that there would be seismic shifts in policing priorities and practices at the federal, state, county, and local and tribal levels that will have significant implications for constitutional rights and civil liberties protections, particularly for people of color. Perilous Policing: Criminal Justice in Marginalized Communities provides a much-needed interrogatory to law enforcement practices and policies as they continue to evolve during this era of uncertainty and anxiety. Key topics include the police and marginalized populations, the use of technology to surveil individuals and groups, the emergence of the Black Lives Matter movement and the erosion of the police narrative, the use of force (particularly deadly force) against people of color, the role of the police in immigration enforcement, the "war on cops," and police militarization. Thomas Nolan's critique of current practice and his preliminary conclusions as to how to navigate contemporary policing away from the pitfalls of discredited and counterproductive practices will be of interest to advanced undergraduates and graduate students in Policing, Criminology, Justice Studies, and Criminal Justice programs, as well as to researchers, law enforcement professionals, and police policy makers. y to surveil individuals and groups, the emergence of the Black Lives Matter movement and the erosion of the police narrative, the use of force (particularly deadly force) against people of color, the role of the police in immigration enforcement, the "war on cops," and police militarization. Thomas Nolan's critique of current practice and his preliminary conclusions as to how to navigate contemporary policing away from the pitfalls of discredited and counterproductive practices will be of interest to advanced undergraduates and graduate students in Policing, Criminology, Justice Studies, and Criminal Justice programs, as well as to researchers, law enforcement professionals, and police policy makers.
Call Number: HV8139 .N65 2019
Policing in Natural Disasters by When natural disasters and emergencies strike, the short- and long-term effects of these events on first responders--the very people society relies upon in the midst of a catastrophe--are often overlooked. Policing in Natural Disasters provides a comprehensive analysis of the major challenges faced by law enforcement officers during extreme crisis events. Terri Adams and Leigh Anderson examine the dilemmas police departments face as well as the impact of the disasters on the professional and personal lives of the officers. Case studies explore the response and recovery phases of emergencies including Hurricane Katrina, the 2010 earthquake and subsequent tsunami in Santiago, Chile, and the Superstorm Tornado Outbreak in 2011. Policing in Natural Disasters was inspired by the personal accounts of triumph and tragedy shared by first responders. It provides an understanding of first-responder behaviors during disasters, as well as the preparedness, mitigation, response and recovery policy implications for first responders and emergency managers. As first responders must frequently cope with stress, uncertainty, and threats to their health and safety during high-consequence events, Adams and Anderson provide lessons from first-hand experiences of police officers that can lead to better management in times of crisis.
Call Number: HV7921 .A345 2019
Ethics in Criminal Justice by Introducing the fundamentals of ethical theory, Ethics in Criminal Justice: In Search of the Truth, Seventh Edition, exposes the reader to the ways and means of making moral judgments by exploring the teachings of the great philosophers, sources of criminal justice ethics, and ethical issues in the criminal justice system. It is presented from two perspectives: a thematic perspective that addresses ethical principles common to all components of the discipline, and an area-specific perspective that addresses the state of ethics in criminal justice in the fields of policing, corrections, and probation and parole. The seventh edition features discussion of current critical issues in criminal justice: accusations of racism, police shootings, stop and frisk policy, marijuana laws, mass incarceration, life sentences, prison privatization, the swift and certain deterrence model of probation, excessive probation fees, and the Good Lives Model in corrections. The seventh edition also offers completely revised coverage of capital punishment and the rehabilitation debate, and a discussion of how juvenile justice often fails to live up to its ideals. Finally, the book features new case studies of recent ethical dilemmas in criminal justice to enhance students' understanding of real-life ethics decision-making. Suitable for advanced undergraduates or graduate students in criminal justice programs in the US and globally, this text offers a classical view of ethical decision-making and is well-grounded in specific case examples.
Call Number: HV7419 .S68 2020
Criminal Investigation by A classic in the field, Criminal Investigation: A Method for Reconstructing the Past, Eighth Edition, presents the fundamentals of criminal investigation and provides a sound method for reconstructing a crime based on three major sources of information: people, physical evidence, and records. By breaking information sources into these three major components, the book provides a logical approach that helps students remember and achieve mastery of these essentials. More than a simplistic introductory text, yet written in an easy-to-read, user-friendly format, it offers a broad treatment of criminal investigation. Updated and streamlined since the prior edition, the text covers the foundations and principles of criminal investigation, analysis of specific crimes, and explores special topics including enterprise crime, arson and explosives, computers and technological crime, increasing threats and emerging crime, and terrorism and urban disorder. This discussion of contemporary and future criminal activity teaches students facts about the present as well as the skills to stay current in a rapidly changing field. This book is indispensable for core courses in criminal investigation. Chapters include a variety of helpful charts, tables, and illustrations, as well as discussion questions that provide focus on the most important points. A glossary provides definitions for terms that have specialized meanings, and an online companion site offers an array of resources for both students and instructors. of contemporary and future criminal activity teaches students facts about the present as well as the skills to stay current in a rapidly changing field. This book is indispensable for core courses in criminal investigation. Chapters include a variety of helpful charts, tables, and illustrations, as well as discussion questions that provide focus on the most important points. A glossary provides definitions for terms that have specialized meanings, and an online companion site offers an array of resources for both students and instructors.
Call Number: HV8073 .O833 2019
By the court : anonymous judgments at the Supreme Court of Canada by "Any court watcher knows that the Supreme Court of Canada delivers some of its major constitutional judgments in a 'By the Court' format. This transformative approach abandons the common law tradition of attributing decisions to individual judges. By the Court is the first major study of these unanimous and anonymous decisions and features a complete inventory, chronology, and typology of these cases. Peter McCormick and Marc Zanoni explore the origins, purposes, and potential future of 'By the Court,' framing this practice not only as uniquely Canadian but also as the most dramatic form of a modern style that highlights the institution and downplays individual contributions." --Provided by publisher.
Call Number: KE8244 .M33 2019
The Practice of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice by The Practice of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice, Seventh Edition demonstrates the vital role research plays in criminology and criminal justice by integrating in-depth, real-world case studies with a comprehensive discussion of research methods. By pairing research techniques with practical examples from the field, Ronet D. Bachman and Russell K. Schutt equip students to critically evaluate and confidently conduct research. The Seventh Edition of this best-selling text retains the strengths of previous editions while breaking ground with emergent research methods, enhanced tools for learning in the text and online, and contemporary, fascinating research findings. This edition incorporates new topics like intelligence-led policing, social network analysis (SNA), the evolution of cybercrime, and more. Students engage with the wide realm of research methods available to them, delve deeper into topics relevant to their field of study, and benefit from the wide variety of new exercises to help them practice as they learn.
Call Number: HV6024.5 .B33 2020
Just a Cop: a memoir of my 30 years with the Toronto police and as an undercover agent by Toronto, Canada. A city that has perilously transformed over a short period of thirty years from a relatively peaceful, naive, 'small-town' city, to a sprawling urban metropolis plagued with crime, guns, gangs and violence. Just A Cop is a rare memoir written by a street level cop, Hal Cunningham, who witnessed this transformation first hand. Beginning his career in 1973 as an unarmed cadet, Cunningham earned his way through the ranks from a constable on patrol, to undercover street intelligence officer, and eventually to the rank of Staff Sergeant and Platoon Commander. This memoir is a first of its kind. Through the eyes of a frontline police officer who's been there and witnessed much, it offers a raw look at how "Toronto the Good" changed into a 'mean streets' city whose per capita murder rate is now higher than that of New York City.
Call Number: HV7911.C866 A3 2018
Publication Date: Loyalist College LAS Graduate
Forensic Psychology by This edition of Forensic Psychology: The Basicscontinues to provide an essential and accessible overview of a dynamic and fascinating discipline. Providing an engaging introduction to the core topics within Forensic Psychology, the text combines a discussion of theory with information about the role of a professional forensic psychologist. This edition has been fully updated throughout to include additional coverage of: Offender profiling and rehabilitation The role of psychology in crime prevention Psychological factors relating to terrorism Established topics including police psychology, the psychology of crime and delinquency, victimology and victim services, and correctional psychology are also considered in this invaluable guide. It will be essential reading for students across a range of disciplines, from psychology to criminology to law, or general readers seeking a concise and jargon-free introduction. ill be essential reading for students across a range of disciplines, from psychology to criminology to law, or general readers seeking a concise and jargon-free introduction.
Call Number: RA1148 .T39 2019
Ethics and Canadian law enforcement by "Ethics and Canadian Law Enforcement provides a comprehensive overview of law enforcement decision-making in Canada, including the ethical conduct expected of law enforcement personnel such as police officers, sheriffs, correctional officers, and private security. The authors examine codes of conduct, internal investigations, misconduct and discipline, and the role of the civilian review. This text provides students with a solid grounding in the theories, morals, and values that are the foundation of ethical decision-making. The range of topics include the use of force, on- and off-duty challenges, issues of accountability and oversight, the application of issued firearms, diversity in the law enforcement workforce, and the decision-making considerations unique to law enforcement in Indigenous communities."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: HV7924 .P37 2018
Canadian Justice, Indigenous Injustice by In August 2016 Colten Boushie, a twenty-two-year-old Cree man from Red Pheasant First Nation, was fatally shot on a Saskatchewan farm by white farmer Gerald Stanley. In a trial that bitterly divided Canadians, Stanley was acquitted of both murder and manslaughter by a jury in Battleford with no visible Indigenous representation. In Canadian Justice, Indigenous Injustice Kent Roach critically reconstructs the Gerald Stanley/Colten Boushie case to examine how it may be a miscarriage of justice. Roach provides historical, legal, political, and sociological background to the case including misunderstandings over crime when Treaty 6 was negotiated, the 1885 hanging of eight Indigenous men at Fort Battleford, the role of the RCMP, prior litigation over Indigenous underrepresentation on juries, and the racially charged debate about defence of property, self-defence, guns, and rural crime. Drawing on both trial transcripts and research on miscarriages of justice, Roach looks at jury selection, the controversial "hang fire" defence, how the credibility and beliefs of Indigenous witnesses were challenged on the stand, and Gerald Stanley's implicit appeals to self-defence and defence of property, as well as the decision not to appeal the acquittal. Concluding his study, Roach asks whether Prime Minister Justin Trudeau's controversial call to "do better" is possible, given similar cases since Stanley's, the difficulty of reforming the jury or the RCMP, and the combination of Indigenous underrepresentation on juries and overrepresentation among those victimized and accused of crimes. Canadian Justice, Indigenous Injustice is a searing account of one case that provides valuable insight into criminal justice, racism, and the treatment of Indigenous peoples in Canada.
Call Number: HV6535.C32 S28 2019
Community-based strategic policing in Canada by Evolution of Canadian policing -- Overview of Canadian policing -- What is community policing? -- Responding to and preventing crime within a community policing framework -- Problem-oriented policing -- The community policing police service -- Implementing community policing -- The community police officer -- Restorative justice within a community policing framework -- The community and community policing.
Call Number: HV7936.C83 W45 2019
Policing (Justice Series) by Thought-provoking look at policing that uses clear writing and eye-catching visuals to get your students straight to the important concepts. By focusing on these core concepts, students will gain true understanding of the material, without becoming overwhelmed with unnecessary information. The book's conversation-starting pedagogy encourages active participation in learning, moving students beyond memorization by engaging them in the latest research findings and current events shaping the field. Policing, Third Edition, is also available via Revel(tm), an interactive learning environment that enables students to read, practice, and study in one continuous experience.
Call Number: HV8139 .W67 2018
Juvenile Delinquency (Justice Series) by For courses in Juvenile Delinquency Visual. Juvenile Delinquency provides an affordable, thought-provoking look at the criminal justice system that uses clear writing and eye-catching visuals to get your students straight to the important concepts. The emphasis is on delinquency across the life course. By focusing on the core concepts, students will gain true understanding of the material, without becoming overwhelmed with unnecessary information. The book's conversation-starting pedagogy encourages active participation in learning, moving students beyond memorization by engaging them in the latest research findings and current events shaping the field. The Third Edition features new Voices of Delinquency stories in every chapter, expanded discussions of special juvenile delinquent populations, a new section on police attitudes toward juveniles, and updated figures and tables throughout. Juvenile Delinquency, Third Edition is also available via Revel(tm), an interactive learning environment that enables students to read, practice, and study in one continuous experience.
Call Number: HV9104 .B3457 2018
Handbook of Recidivism Risk/Needs Assessment Tools by Provides comprehensive coverage on recidivism risk/needs assessment tools Correctional and healthcare professionals around the world utilize structured instruments referred to as risk/needs assessment tools to predict the likelihood that an offender will recidivate. Such tools have been found to provide accurate and reliable evaluations and are widely used to assess, manage, and monitor offenders both institutionally as well as in the community. By identifying offenders in need of different levels of intervention, examining causal risk factors, and individualizing case management plans, risk/needs assessment tools have proven invaluable in addressing the public health issue of recidivism. Recidivism Risk/Needs Assessment Tools brings together the developers of the most commonly-used risk/needs assessment tools to provide a comprehensive overview of their development, peer-reviewed research literature, and practical application. Written by the leading professionals in the field of risk/needs assessment, the book provides chapters on: Recidivism Risk Assessment in the 21st Century; Performance of Recidivism Risk Assessment Instruments in Correctional Settings; Correctional Offender Management Profiles for Alternative Sanctions (COMPAS); the Federal Post-Conviction Risk Assessment Instrument; the Inventory of Offender Risks, Needs, and Strengths (IORNS); the Level of Service (LS) Instruments; the Ohio Risk Assessment System (ORAS); the Self-Appraisal Questionnaire (SAQ); the Service Planning Instrument (SPIn); the Static Risk Offender Needs Guide-Revised (STRONG-R); the Offender Group Reconviction Scale (OGRS); the Forensic Operationalized Therapy/Risk Evaluation System (FOTRES); the RisCanvi; and more. Systematically identifies currently-validated recidivism risk/needs assessment tools Reviews research on recidivism risk/needs assessment tools used internationally Each chapter presents sufficient detail to decide whether a given recidivism risk/needs assessment tool is right for your practice Recidivism Risk/Needs Assessment Tools is ideal for correctional, probation and parole, and behavioral health professionals.
Call Number: HV9469 .H26 2018
Cannabis law by "Cannabis Law covers a wide variety of legal issues, including criminal law, commercial law, and workplace and human rights-related issues ... Topics discussed include federal and provincial/territorial regulatory schemes; municipal and Indigenous regulation; offences and punishment, including cannabis-impaired driving; medical cannabis; and the business of cannabis."--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: KE3722.M3 M33 2018
Cannabis law : the legislative framework by "Cannabis law: the legislative framework - 2019 edition is a handy, portable companion volume to Cannabis law with all the significant cannabis-related statutes and regulations from across Canada. This volume provides an extensive and useful guide to the national legal framework regulating cannabis"--Back cover.
Call Number: KE3722.M3 M334 2019
Essentials of Canadian aboriginal law by The Sovereignty of the Crown -- The division of Legislative Authority -- Other legal means of achieving results -- Obligations to Indigenous peoples: Honour of the Crown -- Constitutional protection for Aboriginal Peoples -- Indigenous identity in Canadian law -- Affiliation and governance -- Lands -- Natural resources -- Fiscal management and economic development -- Indians' estates.
Call Number: KE7709 .E87 2018
Evidence : principles and problems by Cases. Introduction -- Burdens of proof and presumptions -- Relevance and discretion to exclude -- Exclusionary Canons -- Mechanics of proof.
Call Number: KE8440 .D39 2018
Miscarriages of Justice in Canada by Innocent people are regularly convicted of crimes they did not commit. A number of systemic factors have been found to contribute to wrongful convictions, including eyewitness misidentification, false confessions, informant testimony, official misconduct, and faulty forensic evidence. In Miscarriages of Justice in Canada, Kathryn M. Campbell offers an extensive overview of wrongful convictions, bringing together current sociological, criminological, and legal research, as well as current case-law examples. For the first time, information on all known and suspected cases of wrongful conviction in Canada is included and interspersed with discussions of how wrongful convictions happen, how existing remedies to rectify them are inadequate, and how those who have been victimized by these errors are rarely compensated. Campbell reveals that the causes of wrongful convictions are, in fact, avoidable, and that those in the criminal justice system must exercise greater vigilance and openness to the possibility of error if the problem of wrongful conviction is to be resolved.
Call Number: KE9440 .C36 2018
The Law of Traffic Offences by General matters -- Procedural issues in traffic offence trials -- Procedural issues in traffic offence appeals -- Evidence and traffic offences -- Speeding -- Careless driving -- Common defences -- Common offences -- Sentencing in traffic cases -- Commercial motor vehicles.
Call Number: KEO535 .H87 2018
Psychological Evaluations for the Courts, Fourth Edition by This volume demystifies the forensic psychological assessment process and provides guidelines for participating effectively and ethically in legal proceedings. Presented are clinical and legal concepts and evidence-based assessment procedures pertaining to criminal and civil competencies, the insanity defense and related doctrines, sentencing, civil commitment, personal injury claims, antidiscrimination laws, child custody, juvenile justice, and other justice-related areas. Case examples, exercises, and a glossary facilitate learning; 19 sample reports illustrate how to conduct and write up thorough, legally admissible evaluations. New to This Edition *Extensively revised to reflect important legal, empirical, and clinical developments. *Increased attention to medical and neuroscientific research. *New protocols relevant to competence, risk assessment, child custody, and mental injury evaluations. *Updates on insanity, sentencing, civil commitment, the Americans with Disabilities Act, Social Security, juvenile and family law, and the admissibility of expert testimony. *Material on immigration law (including a sample report) and international law. *New and revised sample reports.
Call Number: KF8922 .M45 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-22
Security, Privacy, and Digital Forensics in the Cloud by In a unique and systematic way, this book discusses the security and privacy aspects of the cloud, and the relevant cloud forensics. Cloud computing is an emerging yet revolutionary technology that has been changing the way people live and work. However, with the continuous growth of cloud computing and related services, security and privacy has become a critical issue. Written by some of the top experts in the field, this book specifically discusses security and privacy of the cloud, as well as the digital forensics of cloud data, applications, and services. The first half of the book enables readers to have a comprehensive understanding and background of cloud security, which will help them through the digital investigation guidance and recommendations found in the second half of the book. Part One of Security, Privacy and Digital Forensics in the Cloud covers cloud infrastructure security; confidentiality of data; access control in cloud IaaS; cloud security and privacy management; hacking and countermeasures; risk management and disaster recovery; auditing and compliance; and security as a service (SaaS). Part Two addresses cloud forensics - model, challenges, and approaches; cyberterrorism in the cloud; digital forensic process and model in the cloud; data acquisition; digital evidence management, presentation, and court preparation; analysis of digital evidence; and forensics as a service (FaaS). Thoroughly covers both security and privacy of cloud and digital forensics Contributions by top researchers from the U.S., the European and other countries, and professionals active in the field of information and network security, digital and computer forensics, and cloud and big data Of interest to those focused upon security and implementation, and incident management Logical, well-structured, and organized to facilitate comprehension Security, Privacy and Digital Forensics in the Cloud is an ideal book for advanced undergraduate and master's-level students in information systems, information technology, computer and network forensics, as well as computer science. It can also serve as a good reference book for security professionals, digital forensics practitioners and cloud service providers.
Call Number: QA76.585 .S4445 2019
Detention reviews in Canada : a practical handbook on law, procedure, and practice for lawyers, immigration consultants and law students by "The handbook covers the essential grounds for detention, the legislation, the case law and the procedural protocol of the Immigration Division. The case study of Alfred Blake provides practical insight on all the preparation work that is necessary in order to present a powerful case for the release of the detainee. There is an analysis of detention review transcripts with review questions, so the reader can understand and tackle some of the difficulties that are involved in these cases. The chapter on advocacy provides a short refresher on the essential rules of questioning of witnesses, oral submissions and etiquette in the Immigration Division. There is a chapter in the book that deals with the solvency tests that the CBSA will use to decide whether to physically release the detainee after the member of the division makes a release order. There are also handy resources in a chapter in the book to help the impecunious detainee reach out for free government subsidized legal help and representation. The chapter on appeals will give the representative the knowledge and tools to challenge detention decisions of the Immigration Division. The final chapter focuses on recent developments, including a detailed examination of the 2017 Laird Report, which highlights deficiencies in the detention review process and makes some well-needed recommendations. The appendices provide useful precedents and templates that are consistently used in detention review cases as well as essential source materials from legislation and regulations. Important precedents on how to draft retainers and affidavits are also included. This handbook is aimed to be a one-stop comprehensive legal resource on detention reviews in Canada."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: KE4454 .N37 2019
On the Outside by America's high incarceration rates are a well-known facet of contemporary political conversations. Mentioned far less often is what happens to the nearly 700,000 former prisoners who rejoin society each year. On the Outside examines the lives of twenty-two people--varied in race and gender but united by their time in the criminal justice system--as they pass out of the prison gates and back into the world. The book takes a clear-eyed look at the challenges faced by formerly incarcerated citizens as they try to find work, housing, and stable communities. Standing alongside these individual portraits is a quantitative study conducted by the authors that followed every state prisoner in Michigan who was released on parole in 2003 (roughly 11,000 individuals) for the next seven years, providing a comprehensive view of their postprison neighborhoods, families, employment, and contact with the parole system. On the Outside delivers a powerful combination of hard data and personal narrative that shows why our country continues to struggle with the social and economic reintegration of the formerly incarcerated. For further information, including an instructor guide and slide deck, please visit: http://ontheoutsidebook.us/home/instructors
Call Number: HV9304 .H265 2019
Taking Juvenile Justice Seriously by The juvenile justice system navigates a high degree of variation in youthful offenders. While professionals with insights about reform and adolescent development consider the risks, the needs, and the patterns of delinquency of youth, too little attention is paid to the responses and practicalities of a system that is both complex and limited in its resources. In his essential book, Taking Juvenile Justice Seriously, Christopher Sullivan systematically analyzes key facets of justice-involved youth populations and parses cases to better understand core developmental influences that affect delinquency. He takes a comprehensive look at aspects of the life-course affected by juvenile justice as well as at the juvenile justice system's operations and its multifaceted mission of delivering both treatment and sanctions to a varied population of youths.Taking Juvenile Justice Seriously first provides an overview of the youth who encounter the system, then describes its present operations and obstacles, synthesizes relevant developmental insights, and reviews current practices. Drawing on research, theory, and evidence regarding innovative policies, Sullivan offers a series of well-grounded recommendations that suggest how to potentially--and realistically--implement a more effective juvenile justice system that would benefit all.
Call Number: KF9779 .S85 2019
Justice Alternatives by Justice is one of the most debated and reinterpreted of concepts within the fields of law, criminology and criminal justice. Bringing together 35 leading thinkers, analysts and campaigners from around the world, this collection presents a range of on-going struggles for justice from abolitionist, transitional, transformative, indigenous, green and restorative perspectives. Against a background of contemporary concerns about dark money, plutocracies and populism, these chapters raise questions about the relationships between social justice and criminal justice and between democracy, knowledge and justice. Overall, the chapters also demonstrate the breadth, variety and vibrancy of contemporary criminology and include, amongst other cutting-edge contributions, chapters by John Braithwaite, Michelle Brown, Ian Loader, Pat O'Malley, Joe Sim, Susanne Karstedt, Phil Scraton, Richard Sparks, Loïc Wacquant and Sandra Walklate. Justice Alternatives is essential reading for students of criminology, criminal justice and law, as well as for other scholars and activists concerned about social justice, policing, courts, imprisonment, mass supervision, rights and privatized justice. The book's emphasis upon the importance of imagination, experimentation, innovation and debate aims to promote an optimism that there are always alternatives to inequality, domination and oppression.
Call Number: HV7419 .J865 2020
Mental health and offending : care, coercion and control by "This book explores the controversial relationship between mental health and offending and looks at the ways in which offenders with mental health problems are cared for, coerced and controlled by the criminal justice and mental health systems. It provides a much-needed criminological approach to the field of forensic mental health"-- Provided by publisher
Call Number: HV6133 T74 2020
Also serving time : Canada's provincial and territorial correctional officer by "Also Serving Time informs readers about the realities of provincial and territorial prison work in Canada. Exploring the nuances of the job, Rosemary Ricciardelli shows how officer orientations and attitudes toward prisoners are interconnected and foundational in shaping their prison experiences as well as that of those in custody and in managerial and administrative positions. Drawing on interviews with 100 correctional officers from a range of provincial prisons and with experience working in territorial prisons, Ricciardelli provides theoretical and applied explorations of officer orientations, interpretations, and risk propensity to show how perceptions, attitudes, and beliefs--both at the individual and structural levels--shape prison practices. Also Serving Time unpacks how gender informs the actions and self-presentation of correctional officers and informs readers about the officers' experiences when working with male and female adult prison populations. Ricciardelli confirms that tasks of daily living underpinned by pervasive risk potential shape prison work. Through the officer accounts presented, she provides an opportunity for readers to explore how punishment and 'rehabilitation', gender, and the hierarchical structure of prison management shape officers' daily realities."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: HV9506 .R53 2019
Police response to mental health in Canada "The majority of police officer calls involve mental health experiences. Currently, there is a lot of controversy surrounding how police handle these calls and how police personnel treat individuals experiencing mental health. Police personnel often lack knowledge surrounding mental health, and, similarly, they are often inadequately trained to respond to mental health calls. The editors' aim in putting together this textbook is to provide police studies students as well as policing professionals with practical knowledge to help guide their decision-making on critical and non-critical responses. A wide range of topics in the area of mental health disorders and police personnel response will be explored. The first section of the book defines and explains common disorders using the DSM-V criteria and the last two sections of the book discuss police interaction with people experiencing mental health and how to respond to abnormal behavior in a crisis situation."-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: HV8079.3.P657 2019
Penology by This textbook considers the full breadth of the criminal justice system, going beyond prisons to cover other punishments such as out-of-court disposals and community penalties, as well as issues around rehabilitation and reintegration. It offers a holistic and contemporary account of the penal system in England and Wales. Helping students to understanding the ever-changing environment of penal policy and practice, this book not only provides a strong foundation in penal theory but also has a strong focus on actual practice. Author Karen Harrison draws on a number of interviews with people who work within or for agencies associated with the penal system, as well as accounts of prison visits that build a picture of current prison life. Packed with helpful features, Penology includes Spotlight profiles of the penal system in countries across the globe. The text also covers a range of specific offenders, examining not just white adult men but women offenders, children and young people and BAME groups. This is essential reading for students in England and Wales studying Penology, Punishment and Prisons at undergraduate or postgraduate level. It's also offers important insights for students of Criminology, Criminal Justice, Law and Social Science.
Call Number: HV9647 .H37 2020
Private Security and the Investigative Process Fourth Edition by Private Security and the Investigative Process, Fourth Edition is fully updated and continues to provide complete coverage of the investigative process for private investigations by both individuals and in corporate security environments. This edition covers emerging technology, revised legal and practical considerations for conducting interviews, and new information on case evaluation. Written by a recognized expert in security, criminal justice, ethics, and the law--with over three decades of experience--the updated edition of this popular text covers concepts and techniques that can be applied to a variety of investigations including fraud, insurance, private, and criminal. It details the collection and preservation of evidence, the handling of witnesses, surveillance techniques, background investigations, and report writing. The book reflects best practices and includes tips for ensuring accurate and reliable private sector security investigations. This new edition includes: A new section on career opportunities in paths in the investigative field A rundown of the leading security Industry associations and professional standards being published Added discussion of observational interviews include current protocols analyzing data Details of the current legal implications for security surveillance and practices Advances in technology to thwart crime and fraud in retail and other business settings An entirely new section on e-records from criminal and civil judgments Authoritative, yet accessible, this book is one of the only textbooks dedicated to the subject. It also serves as an important reference for private investigators and security professionals. Complete with numerous forms, checklists, and web exercises, it provides the tools and understanding required to conduct investigations that are professional, ethical, and effective.
Call Number: HV8091 .N46 2020
The Wiley Handbook on What Works for Offenders with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities by Brings together the growing amount of evidence on the assessment and treatment of offenders with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Written by a team of international experts, this comprehensive and informative book provides a contemporary picture of evidence-based practice for offenders with intellectual and developmental disabilities. By adopting a scientist-practitioner position directed at an academic level with practitioner guidelines, it provides a valuable reference source for professionals from allied disciplines who are using or seeking to apply research for this client group. The Wiley Handbook of What Works for Offenders with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities: An Evidence Based Approach to Theory, Assessment and Treatment is divided into five sections: Introduction, Phenotypes & Genotypes and Offending Behavior, Validated Assessments, Treatment, and Conclusions. The Introduction offers an overview of the entire book and is followed by a second overview covering the ethics of evidence-based practice. After that come chapters on protecting the rights of people with intellectual disabilities in correctional settings, and behavioral and cognitive phenotypes in genetic disorders associated with offending. The third part of the book studies the assessment of individuals with anger and violence issues, inappropriate sexual behavior, alcohol abuse, and emotional difficulties. Next comes a section that looks how to offenders can be treated. The final section discusses future directions and requirements for offenders with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Provides an overview of the ethical challenges and issues faced by those who work with intellectually and developmentally disabled offenders Focuses on proof of treatment effectiveness and validation of assessment methods to direct readers toward "What Works" Features contributions from authors across the entire English-speaking world including the UK, US, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand The Wiley Handbook of What Works for Offenders with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities: An Evidence Based Approach to Theory, Assessment and Treatment will appeal to all who work in the field of offenders with intellectual and developmental disabilities, including nursing staff, social workers and probation officers, medical and psychology staff, and more.
Call Number: HV6133 .W56 2020
Suggest a New Book
Please feel free to submit a request at any time to Jennifer Dupuis
An Order Form is provided here for your convenience.
Suggest a New Book
Please feel free to submit a request at any time to Jennifer Dupuis
An Order Form is provided here for your convenience.